Copycat Entenmann’s Chocolate Chip Cookies

Posted on

vegan chocolate chip cookies

Chocolate chip cookies are universally a classic favorite. They come in many different shapes, flavors, and textures but I have a preference towards soft and chewy chocolate chip cookies. That’s what drew me to Entenmann’s chocolate chip cookies. For many years, I have been going through many great pains to replicate the original chocolate chip cookies but could never achieve the softness and chewiness that I desire in these cookies. I’ve only learned recently that the brand of butter/margarine used in these cookies make a difference.  I used a spread rather than the hydrogenated margarine I normally use in my cookie baking.

I’m rather ashamed to admit that I have been struggling to make one of the simplest snack foods known to mankind. I don’t normally mind chocolate chip cookies that are crispy but after many painstaking efforts and attempts, I managed to bake a batch of dense and chewy chocolate chip cookies. Who would have thought that a little chocolate chip cookie would have me in a vice? But not for long though.  I also discovered that chilling the dough prior to baking the cookies helps. This method prevents them from spreading and getting crispy while baking.

The most challenging part of baking cookies  is resisting the urge to taste the batter. I didn’t do myself any justice by making a vegan chocolate chip cookie batter since I didn’t have to concern myself with eating something that had raw egg embedded in it. Cookie dough is very tantalizing.  Anyhow, while this vegan chocolate chip cookie recipe may not match Entenmann’s version to the T, the texture and flavors come pretty close. Not only did the results surprise me after having one bite of these chocolate chip cookies, I nearly forgot that they were vegan. I don’t bear a grudge with eggs but I was prepared to make a gamble for the mere thrill of it. And I’ve hit the jackpot!  While there are myriads of chocolate chip cookies, I wanted my vegan chocolate chip cookies to stand out. In this instance,  I take the cake, or the cookie, in this recipe.

I hope I did Entenmann’s proud with my chocolate chip cookie. It’s the least I can do since Entenmann’s products are not available where I live and I am not about to order a box of Entenmann’s chocolate chip cookies online. I may be a chocolate chip cookie fanatic but I am not that desperate. Plus, I will be visiting my hometown soon enough so there will be plenty of opportunity for me to catch up on what I missed out of all these years.

For this recipe, you will need:

  1.  3/4 cup of raw granulated sugar or brown sugar
  2. 10 tablespoons of Mazola or EarthBalance spread
  3. 1 teaspoon of pure vanilla extract
  4. 1 tablespoon of  molasses
  5. 2 tablespoons of flaxmeal dissolved in 6 tablespoons of water
  6. 1 cup of spelt flour sifted
  7. 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour sifted
  8. 1/2 cup of oat bran, wheat bran or grounded walnuts
  9. 1/3 teaspoon of salt
  10. 1 teaspoon of cinnamon
  11. 1 teaspoon of baking soda
  12. 2 cups of semi-sweet chocolate chip cookies

Instructions

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F.  In the bowl of a standing mixer with the paddle attachment, mix the sugar with the flaxmeal until well combined for at least a minute. Then add the vanilla extract, spread, and  molasses and blend for another 30 seconds or until creamy. In a small bowl, add the sifted flour, oat bran, salt, cinnamon, and baking soda and whisk together. Add half of the flour ingredients to the wet mixture. Mix well and add the remaining half. Fold in chocolate chips. On parchment-lined cookie sheets, drop one ounce spoonful’s of batter leaving a few inches in between drops.  Bake for about 8 minutes or so (depending on your oven). Bake one pan at a time.  When removing the cookis from the oven, they are suppose to be soft and dense.  Let cookies cool completely before removing them from the parchment paper. Once cooled,  gently pry them from the paper using a sharp edged spatula.

Yields about 2 dozen cookies

 

Leave a Reply

