The Case of Lazy Summer

Posted on

lazy dog

I normally would feature a recipe but I’ve decided to turn the tables around here and let people share their summer recipes ideas on my blog. Not because I don’t have ideas of my own. With an upcoming wedding, family reunion, social gatherings, flying across several continents, time pressing projects,  and social gatherings that I have attended, I wasn’t able to squeeze any time to fit blogging in my schedule. No, I have not forgot about you or my blog. I was also feeling tired as heat does have an impact my laziness and lack of motivation.   As my mother says, “Temperature is inversely proportional to my desire to move”. My tolerance for heat is very low. Nonetheless, I accomplish nothing from shirking from my responsibilities. I suppose my commitment, conviction, and determination is what’s keeping me fueled.

We all need a break from time to time. So do I. Rather than searching and publishing summer recipes today, some of my friends lent me great summer recipe ideas that are easy and most importantly, don’t require much usage of heat. The kitchen is the last place I want to be during the summer but cold soups, ice cream and smoothies isn’t necessarily going to cut it for me nor will it for my family. Cooking never takes a summer vacation. There are still bellies to fill and palates to satisfy.

I was in need of low carb lunch recipes and an acquaintance recommended this Coca-Cola chicken wings recipe.  As delicious as it is easy, preparation only requires 20 minutes of your time.  I have eaten coca-cola chicken before but I am intrigued by this recipe. I am a sucker for chicken wings or finger food for that matter. They are just convenient and easy to eat.   I may try them out for my July 4th barbecue.  Another person lend me his Zucchini Pizza Boat recipe which would be ideal for a Meatless Monday dinner. I love the idea, simplicity, and creativity behind using zucchini instead of pizza dough.  This recipe not only makes for a healthy dinner idea but it’s perfect for incorporating more vegetables in your kids diets.

Sometimes my schedule takes over my life and I don’t always have the time nor the energy to whip up gourmet nutritious meals. Take-out meals are not an option for me as tempting as they may seem. That is why this bake curried cauliflower quinoa recipe is ideal. As the contributor to this recipe puts it, it’s gluten-free, vegan, and full of detoxifying turmeric and white vegetables, which are great for keeping your immune system healthy. Stuffed vegetables seem to be the latest rave and I am itching to give this unbelievably easy stuffed vegetables recipe  a try. No meal is complete without a dessert. These easy no-fail gluten-free chewy chocolate almond hazelnut cookies   are a great way to conclude a heavy meal.

 

Leave a Reply

