Mexican Corn Salad

Posted on Updated on

I know it doesn’t make sense for me to post Mexican themed recipes at this time of year since we’ve past Cinco De Mayo but nonetheless, I feel this would make a wonderful barbeque salad in the summer. A lot of Mexican recipes consists of bean and I intentionally leave them out because I am not too particularly crazy for them.   I include a small jalapeno pepper to add some acidity to the salad but if you don’t like anything spicy, you can omit that. I borrowed the recipe idea from this link:

http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/albuquerque-corn-salad-10000001823360/

My recipe does not involve much cooking though. Its simple,quick, and more time saving in my opinion.

 

You will need:

  1. 2 cups of fresh corn cooked and chilled (about 4 ears)
  2. 1 small red onion chopped
  3. 2/3 cup of  chopped red bell pepper
  4. 1 3/4 cups thinly sliced green onions
  5. 1 tablespoon minced jalapeño pepper (optional)
  6. 1 Tsp of mayonnaise
  7. 1 tsp of pepper
  8. 1 tsp of  dried cilantro or 1 Tsp of fresh chopped cilantro
  9.  1/2 tsp of chili powder
  10. 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin

 

Mix corn, red bell pepper, and onion in a salad bowl. Combined the mayonnaise with the seasoning and blend well. Toss the dressing with the salad well. Refrigerate for 2 hours and serve!!

 

Leave a Reply

