No Bake Chocolate Cheese Cake

Posted on Updated on

I have a confession to make. I am a chocaholic. I tend to believe that my  satiable cravings for chocolate is not only inborn but hereditary. I got it from my father’s side of the family. Thank you Aunt Rachel 🙂  Chocolate is also a valued treasure in our household. In fact, I would estimate that I incorporate chocolate in my desserts 75% of the time. Studies have shown that dark chocolate has antioxidant compounds that   lowers high blood pressure thus reducing the risk of heart disease.

To learn  more on cardiac benefits that chocolate offers, click on this link:

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/03/28/chocolate-health-benefits_n_1383372.html#s818522&title=Related_Video

Cheesecake is a traditional Shavuot dessert that can be eaten all year round. Cheese cakes comes with many varieties but right now I’m going to target chocolate. And because this recipe doesn’t require heat or usage of the oven, its simple,quick,delicious, and can be served at any dairy meal. I like to serve some berries on the side and since cherries happen to be in season, it makes a perfect supplement for this dessert. For those of you who are lactose intolerant, I recommend you use soy cream cheese instead. Shavuot may have long passed but its never too late to publish a cheesecake recipe 🙂

Tip: I include coffee in most of my chocolate desserts. I find it that coffee accentuates the rich flavor in chocolate.

You will need:

9 inch chocolate pie crust

8 oz container of cream cheese (I have a strong preference to Philadelphia cream cheese) at room temperature

200 grams of dark chocolate melted

1 tablespoon of coffee dissolved in 2 tablespoons of hot water

1 teaspoon of whiskey or bourbon  (optional)

1 teaspoon of vanilla extract

1/3 cup of white sugar

Instructions:

In a mixing bowl, whisk cream cheese till fluffy. Add the sugar,coffee,vanilla, and continue beating still smooth. Fold in the melted chocolate and mix till well combined. Transfer chocolate cream cheese banner to the pie crust. Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerated for 2 hours to allow the cheese mixture to set.

Leave a Reply

