Herb Baked Halibut

Posted on Updated on

This marks the first publication of my fish recipe. I was never to keen in eating fish until I’ve learned a little cooking technique that changed my perspective forever. The key ingredient to a succulent fish is lemon juice. Lemon juice be-rids the fish of that overwhelming fishy stench (which,btw, turned me off to fish) and it preserves its moistness. What you need to do is splash a little fresh lemon juice on the fish and let it sit for 15-30 minutes before seasoning and cooking it. Now I make sure to include fish in my weekly dinner menus.

Halibut is a popular dish on the western coast of America.  Akin to Tilapia and Sea Bass, it has a mild taste, appealing to those who think that salmon is a little too “fishy.”It has a similar texture to Tuna but not as flaky.  Aside from its spectacular taste,  Halibut is extremely good for you, boasting a high protein to fat ratio.Furthermore, the miniscule amount of fat that exists in a filet is Omega-3, a good form of fat that will help lower your risk of heart disease and promote overall wellness. Halibut can be served with brown rice or whole green beans.

Like chicken and meat, avoid cooking the fish when its still frozen. Allow it to thaw and come to room temperature first.

For this recipe, you will need:

  1. 2 (16 oz.) pkgs . halibut
  2. 1/4 c. finely chopped onions
  3. 1 tsp. salt
  4. 1/2 tsp. dried marjoram, crushed
  5. 1/4 tsp. pepper
  6. 3 tbs2 tbsp. lemon juice
  7. 3 tbsp. minced parsley
  8.  Parmesan cheese

Instructions :

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Cut halibut into 6 serving size blocks. Place in a single layer in a shallow baking dish.

Mix onions, salt, marjoram, pepper and parsley, stir in lemon juice. Sprinkle some Parmesan cheese  on top of the fish.Spread over halibut; cover. Bake 35 minutes or until fish flakes easily with a fork. Serve from baking dish. Garnish with parsley sprigs or lemon wedges.

Yields 6  servings

6 thoughts on “Herb Baked Halibut

    Yehuda Meir Lipson said:
    June 7, 2012 at 9:52 am

    Shalom, Chaviva, and welcome home!

    Best of luck with your blog and your career ambitions. We ourselves made aliya to Rehovot a little less than 2 years ago, and you can read my wife’s blog at bimakomtov.wordpress.com.

    I was getting tired of buying either frozen salmon or frozen sole fillets, for various reasons. First of all, the salmon, whether steaks or fillets, comes with the scales still attached to the skin! What a pain to have to de-scale it first! I wonder why that is?

    Second, there are several companies offering the sole fillets, but by the time they’re defrosted, they’re mostly very mushy and hard to work with, if you want to pan-fry them with a breading. (It’s not so bad if I’m just baking them in a casserole.) We’ve only found one brand where this isn’t so much a concern, but it’s not so easy to find it all the time.

    So, yesterday, for the first time, I bought a pack of frozen Nile Perch fillets. In your opinion, would this recipe you’ve published here work for that fish as well?

    Yehuda Meir Lipson.

      challahmaidel responded:
      June 11, 2012 at 1:37 pm

      Hi Yehuda,
      Thank you for reading my blog. I agree that buying frozen fish can be a pain but fresh fish,from what I understand, is expensive. Some people like the scales on the skin because it adds a little crunchiness. I’m not so keen about it and I usually descale the fish with a sharp knife. You can use this recipe to experiment with your Nile Perch fillets. I will hopefully be publishing a recipe on Nile Perch. I made this fish with salsa and schug which came out really nicely if you like spicy fish. Its sort of like Moroccan fish. There is a variety of recipes for Nile Perch but I’m more partial to the Moroccan recipe which I hope to publish my own version shortly.
      I read your wife’s blog and its really nice. Most olim, including myself, can relate to your Aliyah expreince. I’m happy to be living in Israel and not everyone has that privilege. But living in Israel comes with its challenges and I admittedly miss certain aspects of life in the US.Most people do. I was wondering if your wife could add my link to her blog. I would be happy to do the same for her with her permission.

      Chaviva

        Yehuda Meir Lipson said:
        June 11, 2012 at 3:14 pm

        Shalom, Chaviva.

        I’m glad you enjoyed my wife’s blog. I’ll ask her about the mutual cross-referencing; I’m sure she’d be delighted!

        I went ahead and used your halibut recipe with the Nile Perch, and it was a hit! Definitely one we’ll do again. I’ll look for the halibut next time to try that. Thanks especially for the tip about eliminating the “fishy” taste with the lemon juice pre-treatment. However, some members of my family (present company excluded) are not big on spicy food, so I don’t expect we’ll be making the Moroccan fish any time soon. Although, to accommodate a Yemenite friend who will be visiting soon from the States, I would be willing to try something with s’chug.

        Actually, I would love to see more recipes that incorporate the spices that are so indigenous to this part of the world and that have been adapted by our far-flung MoT’s: cardamom, cinnamon, curry, turmeric, ginger, garlic, paprika, cumin, mint, etc. We also use coconut milk (or sometimes water) in our concoctions. Do you have anything with those ingredients?

        You might be interested in looking at this book by Claudia Roden, if you haven’t already:
        “The Book of Jewish Food: An Odyssey from Samarkand to New York, With More Than 800 Ashkenazi and Sephardi Recipes”.

        B’tayavon,
        Yehuda Meir.

        challahmaidel responded:
        June 11, 2012 at 7:09 pm

        Shalom Yehuda,

        Thank you for your feedback. I’m glad to hear that my Halibut recipe worked really nicely with your Nile Perch. I tend to experiment a lot with my cooking and don’t always restrict certain ingredients to a certain dish. I purchased some Nile Perch and I will hopefully be publishing a recipe on that sometime this week. The salsa that I’ll be making it is more on the mild side. I never really appreciated anything spicy until I found out that it can work as a remedy for my nasal congestion. I always make sure to have a piece of bread or cracker nearby to counteract the spiciness. I have several more Indian,Middle Eastern,Asian,and Mediterranean dishes lined up that include these spices. I seldom use coconut milk in my dishes because I have an allergy to coconut. Thank you for your input and reading my blog. I’m always open to suggestions (so long as they’re healthy) and requests!

        Enjoy,

        Challah Maidel

    Ramon said:
    May 15, 2015 at 1:50 am

    Excellent blog you have here.. It’s hard to find excellent writing like yours nowadays.

    I truly appreciate individuals like you! Take care!!

      challahmaidel responded:
      May 15, 2015 at 12:03 pm

      Hi Ramon! Thank you for your readership and your positive feedback. It’s readers like you who inspire me to blog about my culinary adventures 🙂

Leave a Reply

