Pumpkin Craisin Muffins

Posted on

I know. We have a long way to go till Thanksgiving and  pumpkin is not in season yet. I had a can of pumpkin puree stashed away for later use and I thought I would preempt myself. I still have one more can left.  People often confuse with pumpkin puree with pumpkin pie mix. They are not the same. For this recipe, I used pumpkin puree. I was feeling lazy and didn’t want to bother making it from scratch. But if you choose to do so, follow the same method for making butternut/acorn squash puree. You would need at least 1 lbs of pumpkin. If you don’t like pumpkin, you can use any other squash of your choice. I made muffins from butternut squash and they were superb. I added some craisins because  the flavors of the pumpkins and craisins are quite congruent with each other. I made these muffins for myself because hubby doesn’t care for either pumpkin nor craisins. These muffins taste delicious all year round. Plus  the seasonal produce rules are not applicable to me. Whatever you can find at the fruit/vegetable market, just get it. These muffins are very flavorful and light. They serve well over a cup of coffee or as a side dish at a Thanksgiving meal.

For this recipe, you will need:

  1.  3/4 cup of  self rising flour
  2.  1/2 cup of whole wheat flour
  3. 1 teaspoon of baking powder
  4. 1/2 teaspoon of baking soda
  5. 1/4 teaspoon of salt
  6.  1 15 oz  can of pumpkin puree ( or about a cup and 1/2 of homemade puree)
  7. 2  large eggs
  8. 1/2 cup of brown sugar
  9. 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
  10. 1 teaspoon of cinnamon
  11. 1/2 teaspoon of ground cloves
  12.  1 cup of  dried cranberries (a.k.a. craisins)

Preheat your oven to 350degrees F. Combine all dry ingredients in a bowl. Set aside. In another bowl, beat in eggs with sugar. Add the puree and mix well. Add the vanilla and spices. Mix well till combined. Pour dry ingredients into the pumpkin mixture and mix well. Stir in dried cranberries. Align 12 muffin cups on a muffin tin. Fill each cup with the batter evenly. Bake for 25 minutes or until golden brown.

Yields 12 muffins

Leave a Reply

