Apricot Maple Oatmeal Bars

Posted on

These delightful bars are quick to make and easy to transport. Rather than using apricot preserves, I use chopped dried apricots.  Apricots are  are a good source of potassium and beta carotene.  I borrowed this original recipe from on of my cookbooks. I modified the ingredients and measurements.  I replaced honey with maple syrup and the experimentation was a success! I can’t remember how many bars I went through. That’s how delicious they are. Moreover, they are healthier than most oatmeal bar recipes.  I used a non dairy polyunsaturated fat butter spread as suppose to using butter.  Polyunsaturated fats are   fats that have more than one double-bonded (unsaturated) carbon in the molecule. Polyunsaturated fats can have a beneficial effect on your health when consumed in moderation and when used to replace saturated fats or trans fats.  Polyunsaturated fats can help reduce the cholesterol levels in your blood and lower your risk of heart disease. They also include essential fats that your body needs  such as omega-6 and omega-3.  Omega-6 and omega-3 play a crucial role in brain function and in the normal growth and development of your body. They are presumably healthier than  saturated fats and trans fats  which  can negatively affect your health.

For this recipe, you will need:

  1. 1 cup of  dried apricots chopped
  2.  2 cups of oats
  3.  2/3 cup of whole wheat pastry flour
  4. 6 oz of polyunsaturated spread
  5. 1/2 cup of brown sugar
  6. 1/4 cup of maple syrup (not pancake syrup)
  7. 2 teaspoons of sesame seeds
  8. 1/2 teaspoon of salt

Preheat your oven to 375 degrees F. In a sauce pan over medium heat,  combine spread and sugar till melted. Stir in apricots and maple syrup. In a bowl, mix flour,oats, and salt. Pour in apricot mixture and add sesame seeds. Spread and press crumb mixture into a greased greased 8 x 8 x 2 inch pan. Bake for 25 minutes or until golden brown. Cool on rack.  Cut into  12 rectangles.

2 thoughts on “Apricot Maple Oatmeal Bars

    private krankenvericherung said:
    December 30, 2012 at 6:01 pm

    I believe what you composed made a bunch of sense. But, consider this,
    what if you typed a catchier post title? I mean, I don’t want to tell you how to run your website, however what if you added a title to possibly grab folk’s attention?
    I mean Apricot Maple Oatmeal Bars Challah Maidel is a little plain.
    You might peek at Yahoo’s home page and see how they write post headlines to grab people interested. You might add a related video or a related picture or two to get people interested about everything’ve got
    to say. Just my opinion, it could make your website a
    little livelier.

      challahmaidel responded:
      December 31, 2012 at 2:19 pm

      Thank you for your feedback. I tend to keep my post titles simple because I don’t want them to come off as being too cheesy. But I sincerely appreciate your input though. I do hope that you continue to read my blog and enjoy my recipes 🙂

Leave a Reply

