Teriyaki Bass

Posted on Updated on

The primary reason why I enjoy fish a lot because its very flexible with any flavors you decide to use. As you can see, I incorporated some Asian flavors and it was a smashing hit.  Bass is one of my favorite but also one of the most expensive fish. Sea Bass doesn’t smell as much nor does it have as many bones as a lot of fish do. It has a buttery texture and it is naturally succulent.  I purchased a Japanese Sea Bass ; a fish I normally don’t come across. You can use Chilean Sea Bass (which I had before. It cost me and arm and a leg but the purchase was worth every penny. Besides, I don’t regularly eat Sea Bass mainly because its too expensive).  Like with most fish dishes  I prepare, I marinated this Sea Bass in fresh lemon juice. Although this technique is not as required, I mostly do it for the flavor. You can leave this step out though. This fish is big and hearty so I made a meal for 2 out of it. This recipe serves well with rice or with my vegetarian stir fry recipe.  For this recipe, you will need:

  1. 2 large  Sea Bass fillets
  2. Lemon juice for marinating (optional)
  3. 1/3 cup of molasses or brown sugar
  4. 4 tbsp of rice vinegar
  5. 2 tsp of soy sauce
  6. 1 tbsp. garlic crushed
  7. 1 tbsp of powdered ginger
  8. 2 tsp. corn starch dissolved in 2 tbsp. cold water
  9. Sesame seeds (optional)

Instructions

Combine vinegar, brown sugar, soy sauce and corn starch dissolved in water. Place in sauce pan, medium heat, add garlic and ginger. Whisk 20 minutes. Place bass on a baking tray. Spoon over sauce. Sprinkle with sesame seeds. Preheat oven 350ºF. Bake for 30 minutes or until fish is flaky. Remove from tray. Garnish with chopped scallions or parsley (also optional).

Yields 2 servings

 

Leave a Reply

