Gluten Free Chocolate Bread Pudding

Posted on Updated on

I attempted to make gluten free bread from scratch and it was absolutely disastrous. Either this  kind of bread naturally tastes awful or I screwed up. Or both. I was merely following the baking instructions on the package and it clearly didn’t work. I ate rolls made from potato starch and it wasn’t nearly as bad so I won’t be publishing that particular recipe. The texture was very dry and the starchiness was too overwhelming. I’ll leave that to the culinary experts on gluten free bread which is obviously not me. If you find such recipe that works, please do share. I made four loaves of this bread and one bite was more than enough for both me and hubby. The problem is I had 3.75 loaves of bread and I didn’t want it all to go to waste. At first, I contemplated on making French Toast but immediately negated that idea. Then a light bulb lit up in my head and I decided on a sweet bread pudding.  Since hubby doesn’t care much for fruit, I opted for chocolate. This recipe is dairy but if you want to go for a dairy-free option, you can use soy or almond milk instead. This bread pudding tastes so incredible that you will forget you were using gluten free bread. It can be eaten hot or cold.

For this recipe, you will need:

  1. 1 lbs of gluten free bread cut into cubes (2-3 medium loaves)
  2. 4 eggs
  3. 2  1/2 cups of low fat or skim milk
  4. 1 cup of cream with the lowest fat content you can find
  5.  1/2 cup of brown sugar
  6. 1/3 cup of white sugar
  7. 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
  8. 2 tablespoons of cocoa powder
  9. 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla
  10. 1 cup of bitter/semi-sweet chocolate chips

Instructions

In a large bowl, whisk together all the ingredients except the  bread in order to get a nice smooth mixture. Add the bread cubes and sit to make sure its coated in the custard, let it sit for about an hour. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Transfer bread custard mixture into a large greased casserole and bake for an hour or until puffed,golden,and set in the center.

Yields 8 servings

Leave a Reply

