Split Pea Carrot Soup

Posted on

This recipe publication marks my 100th blog post. I can’t believe it I made it this far. It only seemed like yesterday that I launched my blog. But my work is not done yet. There are still more recipes waiting to be published and they will be. My appetite for creativity and sharing my culinary insights (I meant to say that loosely) increases everyday. Its all about making the time,effort, and commitment (I admit that I’ve been slacking a bit).

If I may digress for a moment, this post is not about celebrating my publication.There is always another time for champagne. Guessing from the title of this recipe, you know what’s on the menu tonight. The picture could have had you fooled. My photography skills doesn’t necessarily translate into my cooking skills. Yes the soup does contain an orange hue even though its predominately pea soup. I added some carrots to give the soup some heartiness. You can do without the carrots if you chose to. This particular soup,however, needs a roux for some thickness. For those of you who do not know what a roux is, its a combination of flour and melted butter. Its a thickening agent used of certain soups,sauces,and stews.
When making a roux, the amount of butter must match with the amount of flour.

This delicious,healthy, and velvety soup is make from very basic and few ingredients. I enjoy the smokey flavor that the peas add to this soup. This soup serves well with a piece of toasted bread or fish. You can add a little more roux to the leftovers and make a sauce.

For this recipe, you will need:

  1. 1 (20 ounce) bag of frozen pea carrot mix (or just plain peas)
  2. 1 large onion chopped
  3. 1 leek , white and light green parts thinly sliced
  4. 6 cups of vegetable broth
  5.  6 tablespoons of margarine (with the least transfat content) divided
  6. 4 tablespoons of  all purpose flour
  7. 1 teaspoon of dried tarragon
  8. Salt and pepper for taste

Instructions

In a large soup pot, heat 4 tablespoons of margarine over low heat. Add flour and whisk till smooth. Cook for a minute whisking constantly until roux thickens. Add another tablespoon of margarine along with the onion and leek. Saute for 5-7 minutes or until translucent. Add in another tablespoon of margarin. Add the vegetables and the tarragon. Saute for another 5-10 minutes. Pour in the vegetable stock and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and let the soup simmer ,covered, for about 30 minutes. Puree the soup using a hand blender or  in a food processor. If the soup is too thick for your liking, you can pour in a little more broth or milk. If you are not crazy about eating pea shells, you can pour the soup through a strainer to separate the shells from the soup. Season with salt and pepper if necessary.

 

Yields 6-8 servings

Leave a Reply

