Vanilla Mousse

Posted on

I  published my chocolate mousse recipe in one of my previous entires. Although that mousse is on top of the list of my favorite desserts (aside for being a self-proclaimed chocaholic), I wanted to leave my comfort zone and try something a little more daring. I attended an office party. Of the many platter of  confections they displayed, the vanilla mousse stood out. I’ve never tasted vanilla mousse before and I just couldn’t help but resist trying to duplicate this dessert. It was store bought but anything homemade will rival anything you buy at a store.  As I was looking for recipes, I was anticipating something intricate but surprisingly, this dessert only required very few ingredients. If you successfully mastered my chocolate mousse recipe, then this should be a cinch.

A lot of vanilla mousse recipes recommend a vanilla bean in order to give this dessert a more authentic vanilla flavor. Bust since vanilla beans are expensive, I took the cheaper route and used pure vanilla extract instead. You can even use vanilla paste if you decide to (a teaspoon can go a long way). As featured in the picture, I decorated my mousse with chocolate curls (which I will instruct you on how to do) but you can top this dessert with berries,nuts,or even coffee beans. Or you can skip the topping altogether. Sometimes I tend to put too much emphasis on presentation. But its the taste and texture that most people look for. This vanilla mousse is a crowd pleasing dessert that people will be begging for more!

For this recipe, you will need:

  1. 2 egg whites at room temperature
  2. 2 cups of dessert whip
  3. 2 teaspoons (possibly more) of sugar
  4. 1/4 teaspoon of cream of tartar
  5. 1 tablespoon of pure vanilla extract

Instructions

Using a table or standing mixture with the whisk attachment, beat egg whites until soft peaks form. Add in  tartar and continue to beat. As its beating. add one teaspoon of sugar at a time and whisk until stiff peaks have been achieved. Set aside. Whisk dessert whip using a mixture until stiff. Add the vanilla as its whipping. Fold meringue in with the dessert whip. Place mixture in a 9 inch round pan with a detachable rim. Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate for 4 hours or overnight.

For the chocolate curls:

  1. 1 16 oz bag of bittersweet chocolate
  2. 4 tablespoons of margarine

Instructions

Place chocolate chips and margarine in a heat-proof bowl over a pot of simmering water. Using a spatula, stir until chocolate has melted. Transfer to a square container covered with foil. Freeze for a couple hours. Carefully run a peeler down the side of the chocolate. Place on top of mousse. Serve mousse chilled or frozen.

Yields 6-8 servings

 

Leave a Reply

