Pecan Raisin Cookies

Posted on

For some reason, I wasn’t in the mood to whip up something extravagant this week. Despite the “fancy” recipes I publish, my meals are actually quite simple. Before I got married, I was happy with just having a bowl of soup or salad for dinner. Sometimes when I was in a weird mood, my meals would only be limited to PB & jelly sandwiches. I know. Not exactly a nutritious and well balanced meal. But those are bygones. I bet a lot of you are wondering if I prepare and serve these posh looking desserts every weekend. As much as I enjoy chocolate mousse, sometimes I can appreciate a bit of simplicity and cookies are just enough.

Every now and then, if there is a dessert that hubby and myself can’t mutually agree on, we make our own. Despite the rumors that men can’t bake, my hubby can refute that easily. He is very masculine but still can bang out mean blondies (which he’ll let me share in my next publication) and oatmeal cookies. He is also famous for his lasagna that everyone raves about. But that’s besides the point. Hubby would normally be content with my pecan raisin cookies if it weren’t for his nut allergy. Plus I couldn’t leave him dessertless either.

In the making of these cookies, I obviously used pecans and dark raisins. I originally wanted to use golden raisins but they were twice as much for some odd reason. If you are not a diehard fan of pecans, you can use walnuts or almonds instead. You can also substitute raisins with dried cranberries or even chocolate chips! You can also use other dried fruit as well.
For this recipe,
For this recipe, you will need:

  1. 3/4 cup of cookie or all purpose flour sifted
  2. 1/2 cup of whole wheat pastry flour sifted
  3. 1/2 teaspoon of baking soda
  4. 1/2 teaspoon of salt
  5. 1 stick of margarine (Earth Balance or Mazola) at room temperature
  6. 1 large egg
  7. 1/2 cup of brown sugar
  8. 1/3 cup of white sugar
  9. 1 teaspoon of vanilla
  10. 1 teaspoon of cinnamon
  11. 2/3 cup of chopped pecans
  12. 1/2 cup of dark or golden raisins

Instructions

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F. In a standing mixer  with the paddle attachment(you can use a hand mixer as well), cream margarine and sugars till light and fluffy.  Lower the speed and slowly add in egg and vanilla.

Combine all dry ingredients (except for nuts and raisins) a bowl. With the mixture on low, slowly pour in the flour mixture with the margarine mixture. Then add pecans and raisins and mix till combined. Using a small ice-cream scoop or a tablespoon, drop 2-inch mounds of dough onto sheet pans lined with parchment paper. Flatten slightly with a damp hand.  Bake for 8-10 minutes or until edges of the cookies are brown. Transfer the cookies to a baking rack and let them cool.

Yields 20 -24 cookies

Leave a Reply

