Tuna Patties

Posted on

I want to apologize for falling behind schedule with my blogging. A lot has transpired over the past few weeks (only for the good reasons) and as a result, I had to put my blogging on the backseat for now. Don’t worry though; I haven’t ran out of recipes. In fact, my mother-in-law demonstrated to me on how to make homemade Greek yogurt (I will publish a recipe as soon as I have her permission to do so).

I would like to share a revision of my mother’s tuna burger recipe. After many failed attempts to make the perfect burger, I narrowed it down to bite size tuna patties. There is nothing fonder to the heart than micro-mini sized items (cliche). I tried making this recipe as full-proof as possible. And healthy as it is tasty.  You can serve them as tuna sliders with mini-buns or eat them as they are like I do. The burger mixture might seem a little soft going into the pan, but once the first side is cooked, you’ll be able to flip them easily. Serve with steamed broccoli or sweet potato fries.

 

For this recipe, you will need:

  1. 4-5  6 oz cans of light tuna (only on water)
  2. 1/2 cup of whole wheat bread crumbs
  3. 1/3 cup of light mayonnaise
  4. 1  large egg
  5. 1/4 cup of chopped scallions
  6. 1/4 cup of chopped pepper,carrots,and celery (optional)
  7. Salt and pepper for taste
  8. 1 tablespoon of  extra-virgin olive oil

Instructions

Combine tuna, breadcrumbs,  mayonnaise, scallions,egg,salt,and pepper, in a medium bowl, breaking up any larger pieces of tuna until the mixture is uniform and holds together. Heat oil in a large non-skillet over medium heat. Using your wet hands, mixture into 18  2-inch patties. Cook tuna burgers over medium heat 3 to 4 minutes until browned on one side. Turn gently and cook several minutes longer until browned on other side.

 

Yields 18 bite size tuna burgers.

Leave a Reply

