Lasagna

Posted on

Its been a while since I made my last recipe publication. Blogging entails a lot of commitment and I like to apologize for slacking off. Aside from the holidays, a lot has transpired during the past couple weeks. Juggling with my job and preparations for my brother’s upcoming wedding has demanded my undivided attention. One of the resolutions I’ve made for this year was to balance with my time. I know. I failed to live up to that resolution. Thankfully I managed to catch a breather and update you with my latest culinary wonders 😉

Among his many expertise, my husband’s lasagna is legendary. Is it any surprise to you that it is his favorite dish? He takes after Garfield in that regard. He quoted that. Not me. Anyway, there are many variations,  to making lasagne but his is my favorite. Except that we try to use dairy products with the least fat content. People are constantly fighting over for the remaining piece of lasagna because it is that irresistible.  I’m not trying to suck up because he is my husband. People who have eaten his lasagna before can vouch for me. Just ask around 🙂

For this recipe, you will need:

  1. 9  whole wheat/whole grain lasagna noodels
  2. 1 large onion chopped
  3. 2 cloves of garlic minced
  4. 1 lbs of baby spinach
  5. 1 lbs of mushrooms sliced (0ptional)
  6. 1  28 oz can of Marinara sauce
  7. 1  16 oz can of crushed tomatoes
  8. 1 16 oz container of skim cottage cheese (or reduced fat)
  9. 1 16 oz container of skim or reduced fat ricotta cheese
  10. 1  8oz bag of reduced fat  shredded mozzarella cheese
  11. 3/4 lbs of grated Parmesan cheese
  12. 1 teaspoon of dried basil
  13. 1 teaspoon of oregano
  14. Salt and pepper for taste

Instructions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Grease 9×13 inch baking dish.  Cook lasagna noodles until softened.  Do not overcook.  Reduce cooking time by 2 minutes if necessary.  In a large non-stick skillet over medium-low heat, saute onions till translucent. Add garlic and saute for another 2 minutes. Add the mushrooms and saute till cooked. In a bowl, mix all the cheeses and spices till well combined. Layer the baking dish in the following order: noodles,spinach,vegetables, cottage/ricotta cheese mixture, Mozzarella, Parmesan, crushed tomatoes and tomato sauce. Repeat layer. Pour remaining tomato sauce over the top layer and sprinkle with shredded cheese. Bake for 30 minutes covered and the last 10-15 minutes uncovered.

Yields 6-8 servings.

 

Leave a Reply

