Vegetable Stew

Posted on

I normally enjoy my traditional holiday meal of meat and potatoes. The problem is that I exceeded over my share during the holidays. After all that heavy intake of protein and carbs, I was looking forward to a meatless dinner. Hubby and I mutually agreed to a vegetarian stew. A lot of people cringe over the idea of eating stew without meat/poultry. In fact, the slightest mention of anything vegetarian makes them gag. Not me though. I can appreciate a vegan but hearty meal every now and then. Plus I needed to get back into  the routine of incorporating more vegetables in my meals and nothing does it for me but stew. This stew is not only healthy but filling as well. You can eat a bowlful like I do or you can serve it with grains like rice etc.  You can use the leftovers and serve it with pasta or if you really must, you can throw in some pieces of meat,chicken,turkey, or cheese. But I can content with it as its made.  I initially wanted to added more vegetables but  my stockpot had a limited amount of space.Plus the veggies I used were a bit bulky and I didn’t want to cut them too small less it ends up dissolving  into a sauce.  If you have more space in your pot, you can afford to use more vegetables. You don’t necessarily have to restrict yourself to the vegetables I used for this stew. You can use any produce of your choice.  Leftovers should be stored in a container and refrigerated up till 2 days.

 

For this recipe, you will need:

  1. 1 28 oz. can of crushed tomatoes
  2. 3 cups of broth
  3. 1 large onion chopped
  4. 3 cloves of garlic minced
  5. 1 large eggplant cut into chunks
  6. 2-3 large carrots peeled and chopped
  7. 1 lbs of squash peeled,seeded, and chopped
  8. 2 medium- large red potatoes peeled and cubed
  9. 3-4 stalks of celery chopped
  10. 1 large zucchini chopped
  11. 1 lbs of fresh mushrooms washed and sliced
  12. 1 bay-leaf
  13. 1 teaspoon of dried thyme
  14. 1 teaspoon of dried rosemary
  15. 1 teaspoon of dried basil
  16. Salt and pepper for taste

Instructions

Add 2 tablespoons of olive oil to stock pot over medium high heat. Add onions and saute till translucent. Add garlic and saute for 2 minutes. Add the rest of the vegetables, a couple at a time and saute till softened. Season with thyme and rosemary. Pour in crushed tomatoes. Add bay-leaf Stir for another minute or 2. Pour in broth and reduce heat to low. Simmer partially covered for about an hour and a half. Add a little more water if stew begins to dry up and burn. Season with salt and pepper. Discard bay-leaf and serve.

 

Yields approximately 6 servings

Leave a Reply

