Sweet Potato/Pumpkin Pie

Posted on Updated on

I borrowed this recipe printed on the can of Libby’s pumpkin pie filling but made some modifications and utilized my own variation.  Pre-made canned pumpkin fillings are a scarcity where I live so I made a pumpkin puree from scratch.  I honestly never cared for pumpkin. I never had a reason to eat it other than on Thanksgiving.I would eat it if it were placed in front of me. I was more partial towards pumpkin seeds in which I would sometimes season and roast just to have something to snack on. I decided to make pumpkin pie as means to divert from sweet potatoes.  The cinnamon and the grounded cloves enhance the flavor.  Rather than using heavy cream, I used soy milk. You can use non fat or reduced fat milk too as a way to reduce the fat content in this pie.. I didn’t make this pie exclusively with pumpkin as noted. I also incorporated some sweet potatoes as well. You can go in any directions and make this an exclusive sweet potato or pumpkin pie. You can use other types of squash puree as well. If you want to save time and take a shortcut, you can definitely opt for the canned puree. Just skip over the process of making pumpkin/sweet potato puree.  This pie can be served as a side dish or as a dessert dolloped with whip cream on top.  Some people like to add roasted pecans but I didn’t. Each to his/her own.

For this recipe, you will need:

  1. 2-3 lbs of pumpkin chopped,peeled and seeded
  2. 2-3 medium sweet potatoes peeled and cubed
  3. 1 cup of soy milk
  4. 2 large eggs
  5. 1/4 cup of flour
  6. 1/2 cup of brown sugar
  7. 1/2 teaspoon of salt
  8. 1 teaspoon of cinnamon
  9. 1/2 teaspoon of grounded cloves
  10.  1 “9 inch”  unbaked pie crust

Instructions

Preheat oven to 425 degrees F.

For the puree, place chopped pumpkin and sweet potatoes in a pot. Fill water half way. Bring to a boil on medium low flame and cook covered. Make sure pumpkins don’t burn. Remove lid and continue cooking till soft.  Drain most of the water but leave some. Using a hand blender or a food processor, puree mixture till smooth. Set aside.

In a bowl, mix  sugar, cinnamon, salt, and cloves in small bowl. Beat eggs in large bowl. Stir in pumpkin/sweet potato puree. Gradually stir in soy milk. Pour into pie shell. Bake in  in preheated 425° F oven for 15 minutes. Reduce temperature to 350° F; bake for 40 to 50 minutes or until knife inserted near center comes out clean. Cool on wire rack for 2 hours. Serve immediately or refrigerate.

Yields 8 servings

Leave a Reply

