Sweet Potato Pancakes

Posted on

A couple years ago, I attempted to make sweet potato pancakes using the same methods to making regular potato pancakes. I would either use a hand grater or a food processor. Unfortunately, this method didn’t work out for me.  I envy those who have mastered the technique in making grated sweet potato pancakes as it was a epic fail for me. Generally, potato pancakes are eaten around Chanukah time but who’s gonna wait that long? Besides, Thanksgiving hasn’t started yet for Pete’s sake!  And why limit yourself to one same old ingredients when there are other produce? Just because most religious holidays are traditionally celebrated by all faiths doesn’t mean that the food must  be traditional too. Well, there is something to be said about eating  turkey on Thanksgiving, and other traditional holiday dishes on certain religious holidays. But I digress. I decided to make these sweet potato pancakes as would when making other types of pancakes. I made and used sweet potato puree. I’ve seen recipes for pumpkin pancakes as well. I made these pancakes for dinner. I came home from work very late and I wasn’t in the mood of preparing something heavy and time-consuming. I’m not the only weirdo who eats breakfast for dinner. This recipe is dairy as I’ve used milk  but for a vegan version, you can use soy milk instead. I’ve never tried making gluten-free pancakes before but who is to stop you from using gluten-free flour? For those of you who decide to experiment with gluten-free flour, please let me know how your pancakes came out:-)

 

For this recipe, you will need:

  1. 1 cup of all-purpose flour
  2. 1 cup of whole wheat flour
  3. 2 tablespoons of brown sugar/molasses
  4. 1 teaspoon of cinnamon
  5. 1/2 teaspoon of ground cloves
  6. 1/4 teaspoon of baking soda
  7. 1/3 teaspoon of salt
  8. 2 medium sized sweet potatoes peeled,cooked, and pureed.
  9.  1 1/2 cup of skim/soy milk
  10. 4 tablespoons of vegetable oil
  11. Maple syrup (optional)

Instructions

In a large bowl, combine all ingredients. Mix together and whisk until smooth. Cook batches in a greased skillet on medium high temperature until bubbles form on the surface, then turn over and cook until dark golden brown.

Yields 8-10 pancakes

Leave a Reply

