Cream of Spinach Soup

Posted on Updated on

spinach soup

This picture was taken a while ago. Its not such a great caption but I guarantee that this soup tastes a lot better than it looks.  Spinach was not one of my favorite childhood foods. I would swallow my taste aversions for spinach and eat it anyways. Whenever I think of spinach, the first image that enters my head is Popeye The Sailor Man’s bulging biceps. Therefore, it was difficult for me to take spinach seriously.  I grew up on spinach soup but I’ve always eaten the pre-made frozen packaged soups. That is when my dislike for spinach began to dissipate. Now I’ve been utilizing spinach,fresh and frozen in a lot of dishes such as sides,casseroles, salads, and now soup. But as I started to take an interest in cooking, I’ve tried to replicate these soups using actual produce. When made right, spinach soup has a creamy texture and a rich flavor.  Its bright green color is a result of adding  spinach just before blending.

 

While some people use fresh baby spinach to make this soup, I don’t.  I tried making spinach soup that way before and it came out too watery for me. I prefer my soups deep,rich,creamy,velvety, and flavorful. This method didn’t achieve any of these desired textures.  Perhaps I have missed the mark. I find it that the results from making this soup using frozen spinach is more satisfactory (at least in my rule book of cookery).  Plus it tastes just as fresh and is just a nutritious. Generally, frozen vegetables contain more nutrients than their fresh counterparts because the nutrients are locked in when frozen.  Like most of my soup recipes, spinach soup is not that much more difficult to make. I used zucchini and celery for creaminess instead of heavy cream. I suppose you can use a bit of non-fat sour cream or low fat milk for extra richness.  The choice is obviously yours. You can enjoy this delicious soup with crusty whole grain bread or home made soup croutons which basically involves seasoning and toasting bread crusts. When doing so, please keep an eye on them so they don’t burn (guilty). Burnt food will ruin the flavors you are trying to enjoy in a dish.

 

For this recipe, you will need:

  1. 1 10-oz package frozen spinach, thawed
  2. 1 large onion chopped
  3. 2 cloves of garlic minced
  4. 2 tablespoons of olive oil
  5. 1 large zucchini peeled and chopped
  6. 2 large stalks of celery diced
  7. 2 lemons juiced and zested
  8. 4 cups of low sodium vegetable broth
  9. 2 cups of non-dairy or skim milk
  10. 1 teaspoon of salt
  11. 1 teaspoon of white pepper

Instructions

Heat oil in large saucepan or Dutch oven. Sauté garlic, onion, celery and zucchini for 5 minutes. Add vegetable broth and fat-free/non-dairy milk. Bring to a boil, cover and simmer for 10 minutes. Cool slightly, then transfer soup to a blender, working in two batches if necessary. Add remaining spinach and blend (if working in two batches, use half the remaining spinach with each batch). Blend until smooth. Season with salt and pepper.Garnish with chopped chives, soup croutons, or a dollop of fat-free plain Greek yogurt.

Yields 4 to 6 servings

Leave a Reply

