Rice Noodle Salad

Posted on

2013-01-04 12.19.35

I hope y’all had a wonderful New Years. New Years is full of resolutions and I was hoping to get this year off to a good start by publishing more recipes more frequently. I enjoy sharing my recipes and cooking techniques as well as introducing new culinary ideas. And since its been a while since I’ve done a blog post about salad, I would like to share this unique but vibrant recipe with you. This salad recipe was inspired by a soba noodle soup recipe I saw online. I decided to make a salad instead. Since I couldn’t find soba noodles, I used rice noodles instead. For those of you who don’t know what soba noodles are, (I didn’t know until recently) they  are Japanese thin noodles made of at least 30% buckwheat. Since buckwheat has a tendency not to adhere closely, the noodles also include regular wheat flower. They look very much like spaghetti noodles except they are a light brown in color. They are quite popular in Japan and gaining popularity in many other places. They also form the basis for many traditional Japanese dishes. This salad can be made in many different variations as I’ve seen. Some like to toss a bit of mango in. For that extra kick, others may use a minced jalapeño chile pepper. Peanuts would also give this salad a lovely crunch as flavor. Throw in some chopped fresh mint for a flavor boost. You don’t have to limit yourself to the ingredients I provide. Take this salad anywhere you like. By all means, if you can find soba noodles, feel free to go with that. I actually would have much preferred to use spaghetti squash as it would significantly reduce the carbs. If you decide to use rice noodles I like did, its very important not to overcook them as they are delicate. Much to my chagrin, I couldn’t find any so I had to go with what I had. This salad,however, required preparation in advance as it needs to be marinated before serving.  Since salad can be easily made as a side dish. All you would have to do is cook the vegetables.

For this recipe, you will need:

 

  1. 12 oz of rice or soba noodles
  2. 2 red bell peppers chopped
  3. 5-6 raw snow peas chopped
  4. 1/2 cup of raw shredded cabbage (optional)
  5. 2 large carrots peeled, chopped, or grated (whichever method you prefer)
  6. Zest of lime (if you can’t any then leave it out)
  7. 3 tablespoons of fresh lime or lemon juice
  8. 1 tablespoon of sesame oil
  9. 1/4 cup of rice vinegar
  10. 2 teaspoons of low sodium soy sauce
  11. 1 teaspoon of brown sugar
  12. 1 teaspoon of minced garlic
  13. 1 teaspoon of crushed ginger
  14. 2 scallions (green onions) chopped

Instructions

Cook soba or rice noodles according to the package directions. Drain and set aside to cool. Place chopped vegetables in a salad bowl. In another small bowl, whisk zest,line juice,rice vinegar,soy sauce,sugar,sesame oil,ginger, and garlic till well combined.  Toss in  noodles with the salad. Toss in dressing with the salad and combine well. Allow salad to refrigerate for a couple of hours before serving. Sprinkle with chopped peanuts or sesame seeds over the top and garnish with some lime wedges (optional).

Yields 6 servings

Leave a Reply

