Grapefruit Salad

Posted on

grapefruit-salad

Now that I have shared my barbecue chicken recipe with you, you will need a healthy a accompaniment to balance out your meal and nothing does it like a nice bowl of fresh crispy salad. What’s a barbecue or any chicken dinner for that matter without some salad?  There are those who would beg to differ  but I usually make sure to have something healthy in order to compensate for a heavy meal. That way, I won’t have to leave the dinner table feeling too guilty.  I discovered a similar recipe online but decided not to include a balsamic citrus vinaigrette. I particularly found certain salad dressings  to be a bit overwhelming and I much prefer to eat salad as its made. But the choice is yours. And you don’t need to wait till dinner time. I’ve been trying my hardest to combat this kitchen habit I have of  oversampling and cooking/preparing dishes that I make. It didn’t matter this time because hubby doesn’t care for fruit anyways 😉 But I know better than do to that when we have company over.

For this recipe, you will need:

  1. 1 head of iceberg or romaine lettuce washed well and chopped
  2. 1 large grapefruit peeled,skin and seeds removed
  3. 1 red onion chopped
  4. 2 medium sized cucumbers
  5. 1 large ripe avocado chopped

Instructions

Place lettuce in a salad bowl. Cut grapefruit into chunks and toss in. Add on onion and avocado.  Using a vegetable peeler, peel each cucumber into long ribbons.  Add dressing and toss lightly to coat well (optional). Serve immediately or refrigerate undressed for up to 1 hour.

Yields 4 servings

Leave a Reply

