Apple Chips with Almond Butter

Posted on

apple-chips

 

As of late, I’ve overheard numerous complaints from parents not being able to find healthy snack foods for their kids. Kids, as we all know (and I include myself), are notoriously picky eaters. With the exception for the few I know, they are very hesitant to eat fruit and vegetables and often prefer their sugary treats. Many years ago when I was in grade school, my school had a snack policy in which snack food containing high levels of sugar, fat, sodium, and artificial flavors were not allowed. Only cut-up fruits,vegetables, unsalted popcorn and pretzels were permitted. They would even take this policy a step further and have our teachers inspect our lunch/snack boxes for junk food. As a little girl at that time, I thought this was an unfair policy. They even confiscated my fruit  roll-ups which bummed me out to no end.  After a while, I got used to eating unflavored popcorn and unsweetened applesauce on a daily basis. I’d figured that there will always be an opportunity to satisfy my sweet cravings for candy later. But anyhow, I came across a recipe I feel that both the health-conscious and those with a sweet tooth will enjoy. These apple chips are a simple, healthy snack you can enjoy at home or on the go. Keep some at home, at the office or with you in a sandwich bag for when you need a quick energy boost. They are naturally sweet and are not heavily saturated in oil. Plus they are easy to make. As a sucker for almond butter, it compliments these chips. I will be posting a recipe for oven-baked vegetable chips so stay tuned for that. I will also be focusing on healthy snack food tips later on as well

For this recipe, you will need:

  1. 4 apples
  2. Cinnamon
  3. Nutmeg

Instructions

Preheat oven to 25o degrees F. Using a mandolin or a sharp knife, carefully cut apples into very thin slices. Discard any seeds. Arrange on a baking sheet prepared with parchment paper. Do not overlap apple slices. Sprinkle cinnamon and nutmeg over apple slices. Spray apples with cooking spray. Bake for 1 hour. Using tongs, gently lift apple slices to release from parchment paper. Return to oven to bake for another 1-2 hours or until no longer moist.  Serve with almond butter.

One thought on “Apple Chips with Almond Butter

    globalexplorer1 said:
    February 17, 2013 at 4:42 pm

    So simple and yet so delicious looking. I look forward to trying this recipe out on my grandson who is six. He is a picky eater, but I know if he doesn’t want it his mother will. 🙂
    Nice post!

Leave a Reply

