Roasted Eggplant Chili Pepper Dip

Posted on

eggplant-dip

Eggplant is the quintessential Mediterranean vegetable. It is often used in most Southern European and Middle Eastern dishes. Truth be told, my taste buds have recently adjusted to the flavor of eggplant. Before then, it was never a particular favorite item of mine. I never cared for Eggplant Parmigiana and Moussaka. And I was really repulsed by Baba Ghanoush, especially the store-bought container kinds mainly because they were drowning in mayonnaise.  Only when I’ve learned the technique to get rid of the bitter aftertaste was when eggplant gradually grew into me.  My hubby once shared my taste aversions for eggplant until I converted him with this eggplant dip. This dip was practically gone in 2 days after I made it and it was only the 2 of us. The moral of this story is that any dip you replicate at home is not only healthier but the taste and flavors rival anything you buy at your supermarket.  But  I must warn you that this dip is a bit on the spicy side. I was hoping to get the most microscopic chili pepper  but I had to grab the smallest one that I found which was a medium-small chili pepper. And I forgot to discard the seeds after roasting it. You can always adjust the level of spiciness to your liking. You can also neutralize the spiciness with lemon juice which I did. Roasting the eggplant along with onion, garlic, and chili pepper add an extra dimension of flavor.  This eggplant dip serves well with sliced raw vegetables, crackers or pita bread.

For this recipe, you will need:

  1. 1 medium eggplant
  2. 1 large onion
  3. 4 garlic cloves
  4. 1 small chili pepper
  5. 1 tablespoon of tomato paste
  6. 3 tablespoons of olive oil
  7. 3 tablespoons of lemon juice
  8. Salt and pepper for taste

Instructions

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F. Cut the eggplant, chili pepper, and onion into 1-inch cubes. Toss them in a large bowl with the garlic, olive oil, salt, and pepper. Spread them on a baking sheet. Roast for 45 minutes, until the vegetables are lightly browned and soft, tossing once during cooking.  Place the vegetables in a food processor fitted with a steel blade, add the tomato paste and lemon juice, and pulse 3 or 4 times to blend. Taste for salt and pepper.

2 thoughts on “Roasted Eggplant Chili Pepper Dip

    nicoleshare said:
    February 18, 2013 at 8:03 pm

    Reblogged this on Scher & Co. and commented:
    Sounds amazing, always looking for new dips!

      challahmaidel responded:
      February 19, 2013 at 6:21 am

      Thank you for reading my blog.
      I have a couple more dip recipes
      that you may enjoy as well 🙂

Leave a Reply

