Brownie Hamantaschen with Cream Cheese Filling

Posted on

brownie hamantashcen

I know that Purim has long passed but I promised some of my readers that I would publish a hamantaschen recipe that is a bit more hubby-friendly. What I mean by that is a cookie without nuts, poppy seeds, prunes, or any kind of fruit filling for that matter. I baked another batch exclusively for him. Well, I had my share of those too. After all, you can’t tell a cook/baker not to eat his/her own food.  On a previous blog post, I provided several creative ideas and suggestions for making hamantaschen. Just because a certain dish/dessert is traditionally eaten on certain holidays doesn’t mean the  ingredients need to be traditional as well. I’ve made brownie cookies before and I decided to use a similar recipe to make hamantaschen. Only this time, I made a cream cheese filling as well. If you want to take a shortcut and save some time, you are more than welcome to use a brownie mix. When it comes to making chewy cookies,  I always find them easier to handle with when chilled.  As I mentioned before, you don’t have to wait till Purim or even be Jewish to appreciate these cookies. And you can shape them in anyway you want. Besides, why not enjoy them one more time before I have to turn my house upside down for another upcoming holiday? 😉

For this recipe, you will need:

  1.  1 1/2 cup of all purpose flour
  2. 1/2 cup of unsweetened cocoa powder
  3. 1/4 teaspoon of baking powder
  4. 2 eggs
  5. 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
  6. 2 cups of semi-sweet chocolate chips melted
  7. 1/2 cup of vegetable oil
  8. 1 tablespoon of water
  9.  3/4 cup of sugar

Cream cheese filling:

  1.  1 8 oz. tub of reduced fat cream cheese
  2. 1/4 cup of sugar
  3. 1 tablespoon of lemon zest
  4. 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract

Instructions 

Whisk all the dry ingredients in one bowl. Mix all the wet ingredients in another bowl. Fold dry ingredients in with the wet ingredients. Do not over-mix. Cover dough in plastic wrap and chill in the refrigerator for an hour.   Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.  Remove dough from refrigerator, form them into thin patties, and place them on a greased baking sheet. Mix all the cream cheese filling ingredients in a bowl.  Place a teaspoon of  the cream cheese filling in the center of each patty and fold sides to form 3 corners. Pinch the corners for extra security. Do not overfill the pastries. Bake for 10 minutes.  If Hamentashen lose triangular shape gently reshape them with a spatula or the side of a fork. Cool Hamentashen completely before removing from pan.

Yields approximately 2 dozen cookies

Leave a Reply

