Lahmajoon a.k.a. Armenian Pizza

Posted on

lahmajoon

Believe it or not, hubby made this pizza one night for dinner.  I was working late one night and didn’t think I would have enough time to make dinner since I was already starving my brains out. And we didn’t feel up to eating dinner at 9:00 pm. Despite his hesitation and reluctance, I managed to convince him to make lahmajoon. I provided him with a recipe and he made it. And it was lip smackin’ good. Not just because I was hungry. Sometimes you have to give someone a little push in order to help them discover their inner talents and confidence. And in hubby’s case, a little wifely nagging paid off  ;-). In all seriousness, however, I am going to dedicate this recipe to hubby. He was the culinary star and deserves the utmost credit for this scrumptious dinner.

Lahnajoon is basically an Armenian meat pizza. This favorite Armenian snack is the Middle Eastern version of the pizza but it has a much thinner crust, more like flour tortilla. I used some Lavash breads. I had to go with what I have. Don’t worry though; I wasn’t cruel enough to force hubby into making Lavash bread.  A mixture of ground lamb or ground beef with parsley, garlic, green pepper and, onion gives the lahmajoon its distinctive taste. Unlike pizzas that are large and shared, the smaller lahmajoon is usually served individually. I couldn’t find ground lamb so I used ground turkey instead. You can use lean ground beef or chicken. For a vegetarian version (which I carefully thought about), you can use ground soy meat.

For this recipe, you will need:

  1. 2 garlic cloves minced
  2. 1 onion roughly chopped
  3. 2 green peppers chopped
  4. 1 lbs of ground turkey
  5. 1/3 cup of tomato paste
  6. 1  16 oz. can of crushed tomatoes
  7. 1/2 cup of chopped fresh parsley
  8. 1/2 teaspoon of ground cumin
  9. 1/2 teaspoon of paprika
  10. Dash of turmeric
  11. Salt and pepper for taste
  12. Lavash bread

Instructions

Heat the oven to 400 degrees F.  Pulse the garlic in a food processor to mince it. Add the onion and pulse to chop, then add the green peppers and pulse to chop. Add the turkey, tomato paste, crushed tomatoes, parsley, cumin, paprika, turmeric and salt and pepper; process until everything is very well chopped. The consistency should be wet and pasty, like hummus. Spread a thin layer of the meat mixture onto flour tortillas all the way to the edge. Bake directly on the oven rack for 8 to 10 minutes, or until the edges are browned and the meat is cooked through. If the tortilla begins to inflate in the oven, pop it with a fork from the top. To serve,  fold the pizza into quarters, and eat out of hand.

 

2 thoughts on “Lahmajoon a.k.a. Armenian Pizza

    Prag said:
    March 6, 2013 at 2:05 pm

    This is so weird, the other day I was thinking of making a meat pizza but had no idea where to start looking for ideas to make it tasty. So this is great!

    PS, husbands love to make pizza:)

      challahmaidel responded:
      March 6, 2013 at 2:21 pm

      I never had Lahmajoon but I’d figure I would make it because I needed a creative way to utilize my surplus of laffa bread (which has been consumed long ago).

Leave a Reply

