No-Bake White Chocolate Mint Pie

Posted on Updated on

white-chocolate-mint-pie

I know I’ve focusing on no-bake desserts as they are one of my favorite kinds of desserts and for a very good reason. Before you get the impression that I hate baking and dessert making (which is not true), I like baking and preparing elegant and crowd-pleasing desserts that are not complicated to make. Many people I know are daunted by the idea of making desserts. In contrast to cooking, measurements of ingredients must be exact as a general rule when it comes to baking or making desserts. A slightest change in measurements can make a big difference in taste and flavor. But I like baking, making desserts, taking risks, and experimenting. Thankfully, my experimentation with desserts has paid off for the most part but I did have some faux pas (not that it discouraged me in the slightest). I am always looking for ways to simplify these desserts for those who are more “culinary challenged” and almost nothing can be easier other than making a dessert that doesn’t require any use of heat whatsoever. Trust me, people will not know the difference if this dessert spent any time in the oven at all or not. It’s the flavor that counts the most. And presentation to a certain extent.

As some of you who may be familiar with my grasshopper pie recipe, this pie is not too different. It is an adult dessert since it contains mint liqueur so I would not recommend this pie to kids. I used white chocolate for this pie as well. Since white chocolate is considerably sweeter than milk chocolate and dark chocolate, I didn’t feel it was necessary to add more sugar. I intended to use tofutti cream cheese for this recipe and was dismayed that I couldn’t find any at the store that normally carries a couple containers of them. I decided to experiment with tofu as my next option which I originally wasn’t too thrilled with. Suffice to say, it didn’t come out nearly as bad. The white chocolate and mint liqueur did drown out the tofu flavor. In hindsight, I would have preferred the cream cheese but I needed to make a creamy filling. You can use regular cream cheese for a dairy version.

 

For this recipe, you will need:

  1. 9″ chocolate graham cracker pie crust
  2. 1 (12.3 oz) package  of  silk-firm tofu (you can use tofutti cream cheese)
  3. 12 oz bag of white chocolate chips
  4. 4 tablespoons of margarine
  5. 1/4 cup of mint liqueur
  6. 1 teaspoon of vanilla

Instructions

Melt white chocolate chips with margarine in a microwave or in a pot. Once its cooled, combine it with the mint liqueur, tofu, and vanilla in a blender and blend till smooth. Transfer mixture to the pie crust. Cover and refrigerate for a couple of hours or overnight. Serve chilled. Top with fresh strawberries or raspberries if you prefer. See,  I told you it was that simple. If you beg to differ then you are hopeless 😉

Yields approximately 8 servings

2 thoughts on “No-Bake White Chocolate Mint Pie

    Prag said:
    March 18, 2013 at 1:40 pm

    Yay for the choice of white chocolate, a seriously underrated ingredient. Although I don’t know if the parev variety is any good?

      challahmaidel responded:
      March 21, 2013 at 12:38 pm

      Its hard to find good quality parve white chocolate in Israel. I find them to be very sweet which is why I don’t normally add additional sugar when using them in desserts or snacks. There needs to be a sweet and savory balance.

Leave a Reply

