Reduced-Fat Deli Roll

Posted on

deliroll

Deli roll is one of my favorite appetizers. Ever since I’ve been introduced to them, I can’t seem to get enough of these deli delights.  Well that’s an exaggeration because I don’t eat them that often and for a very good reason. Aside from the fact that deli meat by in large is loaded nitrites, deli roll is usually made with pastry dough which can be full of oil and trans-fat and saturated fat.  Like most of the time, I discovered a low-fat solution to making this deli roll.  Since I am trying to clean my house for Passover and get rid of all the food made from wheat, I had a roll of phyllo dough sheets that were enough to make deli roll. While phyllo dough is more delicate and thinner than pastry dough, it has twice less the amount of fat content.  For cold cuts, I used a combination of low-fat turkey and chicken slices with the least amount of nitrites.  I suppose you can use lean pastrami or roast beef slices.  As far as sauces are concerned, I stuck with the original route and used mustard and ketchup. You can use barbeque sauce or chili sauce if you prefer. Deli rolls don’t only make great appetizers but they also make convenient airplane food.  And did I neglect to mention that they are easy to make? Well I do recommend you be a little careful when working with phyllo dough.  But otherwise, it’s a cinch. Although puff pastry dough has some culinary purpose, you can make an exception with this recipe.

For this recipe, you will need:

  1. 1 package of frozen phyllo dough sheets  defrosted
  2. Mustard
  3. Ketchup
  4. 3 kinds of low-fat cold cuts (turkey or chicken)
  5. 1 egg beaten

Instructions

Preheat oven to 350 °F (180°C). Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Lay out layers of phyllo dough sheets flat and cut in half. Spread mustard and ketchup on the dough. Layer the 3 different types of cold cuts, one type on top of the other. Roll the dough. Brush the roll with egg.  Bake for 45 minutes or until golden brown.  Let it cool before slicing.

Yields 16-18 deli roll slices

Leave a Reply

