Gluten Free Chocolate Avocado Muffins

Posted on

avocado chocolate muffins

While many of you have heard avocado in salads and spreads, the last place you expect to see them is in desserts and sweet snack foods. And who would have ever contemplated the thought of using avocado in muffins? Only a weirdo like me could 🙂 I’m sure you’ve heard and possibly eaten dishes and desserts with bizarre and incongruent ingredients with the food. I heard people using vegetable puree in desserts for cryin’ out loud!  I suppose chocolate avocado muffins are no exception. But don’t worry though. You can barely taste the avocado in these muffins. I neglected to mention that they are gluten-free which another plus is.  So what possessed me to use avocados in breakfast muffins? What was the outcome? A couple weeks ago, I bought an unripe avocado which I originally intended to use in a salad.  As I was waiting for it to ripen, I got sidetracked. By the time I got around to using it, it was too mushy to dice. I also realized that I had a variety of gluten-free flour (since I am passed buying another bag of regular flour at this point) cocoa powder, and chocolate chips. Yes, I was in one of those moods again. After much rumination, I decided to take a gamble and give it a whirl. The risk paid off. The avocado added moisture to these muffins and they are a healthy replacement of oil and butter. A bit of vanilla balances out the flavor. Hubby was reluctant to try these muffins as he has an aversion to avocado (strange) and now there are only two left. I may try to convince him to eat guacamole one day though 😉

For this recipe, you will need:

  1. 1 1/2 cup of gluten-free flour
  2. 3/4 cup of unsweetened cocoa powder
  3.  1 teaspoon of baking soda
  4. 1/4 teaspoon of salt
  5. 2 eggs
  6. 1/2 cup of brown sugar
  7. 1 ripe avocado pureed
  8. 1 teaspoon of vanilla
  9. 1/2 cup of strawberry puree
  10. 1 cup  of bittersweet chocolate chips divided
  11. 1/2 cup of chopped nuts (optional)

Instructions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Combine all dry ingredients in one bowl.  Melt the first half of chocolate chips. In a medium bowl, mix eggs, acovado puree, vanilla, brown sugar, melted chocolate, and strawberry puree. Stir in flour mixture with wet mixture until just blended. Fold in the reamaining half of chocolate chips and nuts. Divide batter evenly among 12-14 large muffin cups. Bake 20-25 minutes or until tooth pick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool
5 minutes; remove from pan. Serve warm or cool.

Yields 12 muffins

Leave a Reply

