Duck Sauce

Posted on

duck sauce

I can’t explain why I have been having a hankering for chicken with duck sauce as of late but I have. One plausible theory speculates that I haven’t had chicken with duck sauce in a very long time. Another explanation suggests that I generally like  good Asian condiments which are hard to find where I live. That is what prompt me to try to make my very own duck sauce. When I saw how easy it was to make, I’ve decided to try it out for myself. The ingredients for duck sauce basically consists of apples (or apple sauce), apricots (or apricot jam), chili sauce, rice vinegar and soy sauce. That’s all. Since I am not such a huge fan of jams (as they are generally too sugary for my liking), I’ve decided to use the actual fruit and puree it. I know apple sauce and jams are great shortcuts and normally save you the time from having to process or puree anything, using the fruits are generally healthier. Since I couldn’t find any decent looking apricots, I opted for nectarines. They had to suffice for the time being.

 

While a lot of people associate duck sauce with Asian cuisine, duck sauce originated from the Unites States. It was served with deep-fried pressed duck, which had no sauce of its own. Duck sauce became popular as a dip for any food — from spareribs and egg rolls to almost anything else imaginable. Not to mention that they make great marinades as well. There are so many versions of duck sauce that it is hard to decide which kind to make. No matter which variation you decide to make, duck sauce is suppose to be sweet and sour with a slight kick. You don’t have to agree with me but I do think that preserves can be very overpowering but ultimately, its your decision to use any ingredient that is convenient for you. Don’t worry. I completely understand why you wouldn’t want to use your food processor or blender to smooth out apples and fruit. I admit that I had moments where I felt too lazy to do anything tedious and was looking for easy and less time consuming options.

 

For this recipe, you will need:

  1. 4 sour apples cored, peeled, and chopped
  2. 4-5 apricots or 3 nectarines peeled and chopped
  3. 1 tablespoon of low sodium soy sauce
  4. 1 teaspoon of rice vinegar
  5. 1/8 cup of MSG-free sweet chili sauce
  6. 1 tablespoon of orange zest (why the heck not)

Instructions

Poach the fruit till soft. Process all ingredients in a blender or food processor till smooth. Serve as an accompaniment or marinade for duck, chicken, even turkey, perhaps tofu, spareribs, dim sum, spring rolls and other traditional Chinese dishes. I told you it was that easy 😉

 

Leave a Reply

