Nutella Banana French Toast Sandwich

Posted on

2013-06-18 08.25.50-1

 

I grew up on French toast. I had it almost every Sunday morning for breakfast. Truth be told, I never cared for French toast. It was either too eggy or too dry. I would often skip out on French toast despite my mother’s protests. I’d sooner prefer a bowl of soggy cornflakes if I wasn’t feeling too lazy to whip up a batter of pancakes for myself.  French toast is a breakfast dish made of bread, eggs, and milk. The bread is soaked in eggs and milk. Sometimes a bit a vanilla extract, cinnamon, and sugar are added to the egg mixture. French toast is mostly served as a sweet dish along with fresh berries, topped with maple syrup or powdered sugar.  Thick slices of stale bread is recommended for making French toast as it can absorb the liquid without getting too soggy.  I was feeling adventurous and a bit bored one morning. After not having French toast for a while, I decided to give it another chance. I adapted a healthier and non-dairy version.  I substituted milk for orange juice. You can use soy or almond milk as well. Rather than using whole eggs, I used egg whites.  To add excitement to this dish, I used Nutella spread  and sliced bananas. It was simply divine and a brilliant idea at that. Introducing French toast and a sandwich to each other is combining two of the best worlds together. You get a crispy exterior with a gooey filling on the inside.  If you are looking for a healthy breakfast idea that you and your kids will love or to beat your morning grumpiness, this Nutella Banana French Toast Sandwich may be the right solution for you. I also happen to have had a irresistible craving for some Nutella spread that morning which turned into a breakfast inspiration. If you have a nut allergy, you can use chocolate spread.  This variation of French toast is my favorite by far. Not only is this Nutella banana French toast sandwich decadent but it’s practically guilt-free so long as you make your own homemade Nutella.

For this recipe, you will need:

  1. 4 egg whites beaten
  2. 2/3 cup of fresh orange juice
  3. 2 teaspoons of cinnamon
  4. 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
  5. 8 thick slices of whole wheat bread
  6. Nutella
  7. Sliced bananas

Instructions

Beat egg whites, orange juice,  vanilla extract, and cinnamon together in a shallow bowl.  Whisk until well blended.  Use bread slices to make 4 Nutella banana sandwiches.  Dip each sandwich in the egg white mixture and coat evenly. Grease a non-stick skillet over medium high heat. Fry until brown on both sides, flipping the bread when necessary. Serve hot with maple and fresh berries.

 

Yields 4 servings

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

