White Chocolate Cherry Mousse

Posted on Updated on

2013-06-28 11.50.26

I’m normally very reluctant to use tofu in a lot of dishes and desserts are no exception. When I made chocolate mousse of any kind, it usually involves eggs or heavy cream. I wanted to try something allegedly healthy and easy. Tofu works very nicely in desserts. The key to making a successful tofu dessert is by drowning out the tofu flavor with vanilla, chocolate, and heavily scented fruit. White chocolate and cherries did the trick for me.  Based on my experience, I’ve always found white chocolate hard to work with. Perhaps they don’t produce high quality white chocolate where I live. It doesn’t seem to melt well and breaks very easily. I very seldom use white chocolate but decided to give it another fair chance.  Since white chocolate is considerably more sugary than other chocolate, I didn’t see the need to add more sugar or sweeteners. Plus cherries contain their own natural sugars as well.  Speaking of which, cherries are in season right now and knowing myself quite well, I took full advantage of it. I don’t like to think of myself as a compulsive shopper – which I’m not, but fresh cherries are nearly impossible to resist. These aromatic cherries are very tantalizing. Cherries can be utilized in many ways. Rather than making a cherry pie, I thought about using them in a mousse which was a bold move that subsequently paid off. The cherries perfume this dessert. This white chocolate cherry mousse is so rich and creamy that anyone who tries it will swear that it’s a chock full of calories and heavy cream. It’s anything but. It may behoove me to not be so critical with tofu after all because it enabled that creamy texture of the white chocolate cherry mousse. This white chocolate cherry mousse would definitely work as a stand-alone dessert but could also make a wonderful filling for chocolate cakes. In regards to white chocolate, I may venture to make my very own one day. Serve this white chocolate in glasses and reserve a few cherries for decoration.

For this recipe, you will need:

  1. 12 oz packet Firm Silken Tofu
  2. 2 tablespoons of soy milk
  3. 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
  4. 1 tablespoon of Agave nectar ( I didn’t use any but you can if you feel it is necessary)
  5. 2 cups of white chocolate chips or chopped white chocolate
  6. 1 1/4 cup of cherries pits and stems removed (reserve at least 4 whole cherries)

Instructions

Place all the ingredients except for the white chocolate in a blender. Blend until smooth and lump free. In either a double boiler or microwave, using 15 second intervals, melt the chocolate chips. When melted and smooth quickly add to the blender and blend into the tofu mix. Work quickly to avoid the chocolate cooling too much and getting lumps in the pudding. Pour into 4 glasses or ramekins, smooth the top and chill at least 2 hours prior to serving, preferably overnight. Dollop a whole cherry on top and serve chilled.

Yields 4 servings

Leave a Reply

