Classic Hamburger

Posted on

2013-07-07 08.52.37

Grilling was never one of my strong culinary skill sets. I don’t grill that often. What can I say? I am just a Yankee girl who may enjoy a good barbecue but actually grilling hamburgers, steaks, and chicken is completely far out of my element. Plus I am lacking the equipment for grilling, mainly a proper grill or a barbecue pit for that matter. All I have is a grilling pan which won’t cut it for most people I know. For this classic burger recipe, I could have relied on someone’s guidance and expertise from the Southwest. I’ve always wanted to learn how to grill and fantasized about owning an outdoor grill one day. Right now, my simply grilling pan had to suffice.While hamburgers are nowadays the symbol of fast food and junk, it can be healthy, elegant and gourmet when made and assembled right. Aside for the mere celebration of July 4th, I’ve been having a hankering for a juicy hamburger and there are not that many local burger joints that can cook or grill a burger to perfection in my book. The burgers that I have eaten in the past were overdone, lackluster, and super-salty. After a couple of grilling disasters, I have successfully managed to perfect the classic burger. This hamburger recipe guarantees the juiciest burgers you’ve ever tasted. I used lean ground meat for a healthy option but ground turkey would work well with this recipe. Not over-mixing the ground beef is one of the crucial factors to ensuring a juicy burger as doing so will result tough meat. Oiling and heating your grill will not only promise perfectly cooked burgers but will prevent the burgers from sticking. You can use your favorite barbeque sauce you want but I improvised a speedy barbecue sauce using frozen cranberries which I pureed.  Like meat, hamburgers need to rest before serving. Serve these American classic hamburgers with freshly homemade hamburger buns along with some roasted potato wedges and corn salad. I hope you had a happy and healthy 4th of July. Well, I sort of did. I tried!! Okay, whipped up some chili marinated wings to go along with my patriotic meal. I only had one wing and one serving of hamburger.

For this recipe, you will need:

  1. 2 lbs of lean ground beef or turkey
  2. 3/4 cup of breadcrumbs
  3. 1/3cup of barbecue sauce
  4. 1/4 cup of mustard
  5. 1 tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce
  6. 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne pepper
  7. 1/8 teaspoon of ground pepper
  8. 2 cloves of garlic minced
  9. 1 onion grated
  10. 6 hamburger buns

Instructions

Mix all ingredients in a bowl using you hands. If not grilling right away, cover in plastic wrap and refrigerate until ready to use. Form the mixture into 6 hamburger patties. Lightly oil the grill grate. Grill patties 4 minutes per side for medium rare.

Yields 6 hamburgers

Leave a Reply

