Morning Citrus Juice

Posted on

2013-07-23 08.38.33

Fresh juice is a special treat for me as it’s seldom available. It helps me kickoff my morning aside for coffee. I am normally not a morning person but a cup of cold fresh juice is tends to brighten my mood just a tad. I wanted to spoil myself just a bit and make my own fresh citrus juice.  Made of fresh red grapefruit, yellow grapefruit, and oranges, this citrus juice is bursting with Vitamin C and beta-carotene, as well as lycopene. Revered as fruits from paradise, citrus fruits are known for their unique health-promoting as well as disease-healing properties, especially among health-conscious, fitness freaks. This morning citrus juice is not only impact in flavor but it also delivers a heavy nutritional punch. This refreshing and bright drink with a bit of “zing” really grew on me. I felt too lazy to juice all these citrus fruit manually so I just removed the peels and skin and blended them. I left a bit of pulp in the juice but you can completely strain it if you choose to.

For this recipe, you will need:

  1. 2 large red grapefruit
  2. 3 large yellow grapefruit
  3. 4 large oranges

Instructions

Peel and skin citrus fruit. Remove seeds. Place fruit in the blender and blend till smooth. Strain pulp using a sieve. Transfer juice to a pitcher and refrigerate.  Serve chilled.

Yields 2 servings

2 thoughts on “Morning Citrus Juice

    michaelawanders said:
    July 23, 2013 at 11:27 pm

    I never drink juice in the states (I’m a green smoothie girl, myself) but being in Ecuador for the summer we drink fresh squeezed juice every morning! I love it–my host family has taught me all the combinations and now I’m the one that makes our morning juices.

      challahmaidel responded:
      July 24, 2013 at 7:07 am

      I’m wary about drinking store-bought container juices primarily due to the amount of artificial flavors and chemicals they have. Plus I find it pointless to spend a couple extra bucks on a cup of freshly squeezed juice when you can easily make the very same for yourself. I suppose my Tropicana days are over 🙂

Leave a Reply

