Cranberry Orange Muffins

Posted on

2013-07-30 08.53.34

I can’t recall the last muffin recipe I published on my blog. I can’t even remember when I last baked muffins. It has been that pathetically long. All I remember is not realizing that it’s been ages since I had something for breakfast aside for oatmeal. My palate becomes accustomed to certain flavors and tastes very quickly that it craves for something different. I had a hankering for muffins since I haven’t had one for a long while.  After cruising through an assortment of muffin recipes online and in cookbooks, there was one muffin recipe that piqued my interest. I modified some of the ingredients and recreated a sugar-free version. The combination of orange and cranberries allow the sweetness and tangy flavors to collide into one another. I didn’t notice that I had frozen cranberries sitting in my freezer all this time and they recently came in handy for this cranberry orange muffin recipe. I would have used fresh cranberries if I had access to them. I used freshly squeezed orange juice and orange zest to enhance the flavor. While a lot of muffin recipes require copious amounts of butter and oil, this does not. With only 5 tablespoons of corn oil, 1/3 cup of pure honey, orange juice, and cranberries, this moist, low fat low calorie, dairy-free and sugar-free muffin recipe is a must-have at every breakfast table. Especially at my breakfast table. Some people like to add crushed pecans or walnuts or use rolled oat. I used neither but you can throw them in if you choose to. For a celiac-friendly adaptation, you can use oat flour or barley flour for this muffin recipe. These cranberry orange muffins can be enjoyed while still warm, or when cool.  They are best the day they are made, but are still very good the next day.

For this recipe, you will need:

  1. 1 1/2 cup of self-rising whole wheat flour
  2. 3/4 cup of self-rising all-purpose flour
  3. 1/2 teaspoon of baking soda
  4. 1 teaspoon of cinnamon
  5. 1/4 teaspoon of salt
  6. 1 large egg or 2 egg whites lightly beaten
  7. 2/3 cup of freshly squeezed orange juice
  8. 2/3 cup of fresh or frozen cranberries
  9. 1 tablespoon of orange zest
  10. 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
  11. 5 tablespoons of corn oil
  12. 1/3 to 1/2 cup of honey (depending on how sweet you like your muffins to be)

Instructions

Preheat oven to 375 F.  Line a muffin/cupcake pan with paper liners.  In a large bowl add the first 5 ingredients and whisk together. Make a well in the center. In another bowl, beat eggs, oil, orange juice, honey, orange and vanilla extract together. Pour wet ingredients in the flour well and mix well. Don’t overmix. It should still be a bit lumpy. Fold in cranberries. Scoop batter evenly into prepared muffin/cupcake pan. Sprinkle rolled oats on top of each muffin (optional). Bake muffins about 20 minutes (test with a toothpick, there should be moist crumbs, but not wet). Cool in pans for 10 minutes before removing to wire rack. Serve warm or at room temperature. Leftovers can be stored in a sealed container and should be consumed within 48 hours. Or you can freeze them.

Yields 10 to 12 muffins

 

One thought on “Cranberry Orange Muffins

    ericabella1545 said:
    August 3, 2013 at 3:14 am

    Reblogged this on sweettreatsyum.

Leave a Reply

