Banana Berry Nut Smoothie

Posted on

2013-08-08 07.37.21I have been having an uncontrollable hankering for smoothies. I have also been looking for ways to diminish my consumption of coffee. As much as I love drinking a hot cup of Joe every morning, I curse the day I’ve became hopelessly addicted to coffee among other heavily caffeinated drinks. I have been searching for alternatives and found ways to curb my addictions in the most healthy and effective way. Smoothies usually do it for me. Aside for their rich and naturally fruity flavors, smoothies contain a lot of nutrients thus reducing the guilt factor. Every now and then, I would throw some yogurt and fruit in the blender and whip up a smoothie for myself since I am the only smoothie drinker in my family. I decided to try a non-dairy and soy-free version using ripe bananas, mixed berries, nut butter, nuts, and ice. You can use flax seeds and chia seeds as well if you like. You don’t necessarily have to limit yourself to the ingredient I used for this vegan smoothie recipe. You can use peaches, nectarines, pears and other tropical fruit if you don’t like berries. Healthy smoothies are satisfying and can keep you energized until lunchtime. This banana mixed berry nut smoothie is by far one of the best soy-free and non-dairy smoothies I’ve ever tasted. You can count on me making these breakfast drinks more often. I just hope I don’t wear out the moter in my blender when doing so. While I am not ready to permanently put away my coffee maker, smoothies may be my latest morning addiction.

For this recipe, you will need:

  1. 2 cups of mixed fresh or frozen berries
  2. 2 large ripe bananas
  3. 1 ripe avocado
  4. 1 large orange juice
  5. 1 tablespoon of nut butter of your choice
  6. Handful of nuts of your choice
  7. 1 cup of water, ice combo, or almond/coconut milk
  8. Flax seeds or chia seeds (optional)

Instructions

Place all ingredients in a blender and blend till smooth. Serve cold.

Yields 2-4 servings

Leave a Reply

