A Very Berry Frozen Yogurt

Posted on

2013-08-11 08.16.45

Frozen yogurt is one of my favorite frozen treats, especially in the summer. If I weren’t so self-conscious about my physical image, I would eat an entire tub. Ever since I’ve learned how to make my own frozen yogurt, people have been begging for a recipe. Now I am obliged to share. Even though frozen yogurt is supposedly meant to be a dessert or mid-day treat, I have neither reservations nor justifications for eating having a bowlful of it for breakfast.  People would argue that frozen yogurt is not a nutritious choice for breakfast but with fruit flavored yogurt containing copious amounts of sugar, artificial flavorings, and chemicals, making your own frozen yogurt using natural ingredients is not only less caloric but a healthier option. Moreover, frozen yogurt is a lighter, healthier option than full-fat ice cream. While I used frozen berries for this frozen yogurt recipe, you can customize the base for almost any flavor. Flavors vary from chocolate, vanilla, mocha java chip, banana, to peaches, strawberries, and mango.  With this berry frozen yogurt recipe, you can use either fresh or frozen mixed berries, though you might want to lean to the frozen as you are going to freeze them anyway, and the frozen berries are usually cheaper. The tartness of the yogurt seems to just intensify the flavor of the berries. Frozen yogurt may seem complicated to make but let me assure you that it isn’t.  With just a few basic ingredients and a couple kitchen tricks, you can easily create frozen yogurt tasty enough to satisfy your insatiable cravings for this frozen creamy treat. While some people use an ice cream maker, I had my blender process everything. Homemade frozen yogurt is best served the day it’s made, but it still tastes delicious for up to a month in the freezer.  As delightful as frozen yogurt is, I will be applying preventative measures to not turning making frozen yogurt into a habit. Not to mention how much yogurt I would need to go through. Thankfully, my budget and images of having a thick waistline helps me keep my urges in check. As a sucker for frozen yogurt, hubby wasn’t too thrilled about my choices for flavors. I promised that I would make it up to him. I suppose that I will spend the remainder of my summer swimming off the calories afterwards.

For this recipe, you will need:

  1. 4 cups of low fat or non-fat plain yogurt (you can use non-dairy yogurt)
  2. 1 cup of fresh or frozen berries of your choice (feel free to use other flavors)
  3. 2 teaspoons of honey
  4. 1 teaspoon of vanilla (optional)
  5. 1 teaspoon of lemon or orange juice (optional)
  6. Bunch of ice cubes

Instructions

If not using an ice cream machine, place all the ingredients in a blender and blend till smooth.  Transfer to an airtight plastic container and freeze for 40 minutes or up to an hour.  If you freeze for more than a day, the frozen yogurt will end up resembling more like a frozen block, so just be sure to thaw the frozen yogurt for 15-20 minutes prior to serving.

Instructions

 

 

Leave a Reply

