Banana Peanut Butter Flax Seed Shake

Posted on

2013-08-12 08.02.08

Smoothies and shakes have been my latest obsession. I am constantly cruising for inventive and nutritious recipes. I am also in the process of kicking my coffee addiction and looking for other alternatives that are healthy, filling and nonaddictive. Well, I need to rethink the nonaddictive factor because I’ve been making smoothies 3 times this week. I can’t help it. The combination of bananas and peanut butter is too hard to resist.  The banana and peanut butter flavors in this smoothie are well balanced with a bit of flax seeds in the background. The texture of the peanut butter is thick from the banana and ice cubes. Date syrup sweetens the deal for me. You can spice this milk shake recipe with cinnamon and ground cloves if you like. If you haven’t tried flax seeds in your smoothies, this is something that is worth a try. I like the fiber and thickness it adds to my smoothies. Plus a cup of this vegan milk shake is a great way to start of the day. Not only will it taste like a treat but you’ll get a good dose of potassium, protein and fiber to all at once! If this shake seems too thick, just add another tablespoon or two of any milk of your choice.

For this recipe, you will need:

  1. 2  ripe bananas
  2. 4 tablespoons of peanut butter
  3. 2 cups of milk of your choice (I like almond milk) or water
  4. 1 teaspoon of date syrup
  5. 2 tablespoons of flax seeds
  6. 1 cup of ice cubes

Instructions

Place all ingredients in a blender and process until smooth. Serve chilled.

Yields 2 servings

 

Leave a Reply

