Mocha Almond Ice Cream

Posted on

1377074001738

I’ve been hooked on to making ice cream as of late. I feel that the brutal summer heat motivates me to do so. Even though I wish I had an ice cream maker, I have been getting by very well with my blender. I even froze the bowl for a couple of hours and it seemed to function just as well as an ice cream maker. I suppose the advantage of not having these appliances at my disposable leaves room for imagination and ingenuity.  And it all paid off very nicely. As I was saying before, I am a sucker for ice cream. If you buy a tub of ice cream, you pretty much have me in a headlock. One spoonful eventually leads to licking the entire container clean. In actuality, I have more self-control than that. But I am sometimes guilty of having more than my share. Ice cream usually consists of excess amounts of eggs, heavy cream, sugar, and a variety of flavors. I decided to trim it down with my ice cream recipe. My ice cream recipe contains none of these caloric, artery clogging, and mega-fattening ingredients. This is an egg-free non-dairy ice cream with a heavy impact of flavor and creaminess without the guilt factor. I made almond milk a couple days ago before making this mocha almond ice cream. I’ve sent the almond residue aside and incorporated it into my ice cream along with ripe bananas, a cup of dissolved coffee and cocoa powder, touch of vanilla, and agave nectar. Yes, this ice cream recipe is sugar-free as well. I chose the mocha flavor because it is one of my favorite flavors. If you don’t like mocha, you can exclusively use coffee or chocolate. Or you can use fruit. If you can’t finish your ice cream, reserve leftovers for making milk shakes. I promised hubby that I would make him mint chocolate ice cream or frozen yogurt soon since he can’t eat nuts yet. I will hopefully be sharing that recipe with y’all soon once I have his approval.

For this recipe, you will need:

  1. 1 cup of crushed almonds, macadamia halves, cashews or Brazilian nuts
  2. 1/2 cup of dissolved coffee and cocoa powder
  3. 1/2 cup of milk of your choice
  4. 2 ripe bananas
  5. 4 tablespoons of agave nectar or honey (you can add 1/4 cup of raw sugar of you decide to)
  6. 1 teaspoon of vanilla
  7. 1/8 teaspoon of salt

Instructions

Place nuts in a container or in a bowl. Fill it up with water, cover, and allow it to soak for 4-8 hours. Drain, and pat dry very well with a paper towel. Combine all ingredients in a blender, and blend until all the nut bits have disappeared and mixture is completely smooth. Scoop out into individual bowls, using an ice-cream scoop for authentic presentation. Eat immediately, or freeze each bowl up to an hour for the perfect ice-cream consistency and texture.

Leave a Reply

