Vegan Spaghetti Alfredo

Posted on Updated on

2013-08-22 18.49.12

Now that you’ve enjoyed my Brazilian nut cream recipe, I would like to sort of share a sequel with you. Fettuccine Alfredo is one of my favorite pasta dishes. They are one of the most ordered dishes in the menu at any Italian restaurant I dine at.  I suppose it would be fair enough for me to proclaim myself as a fettuccine Alfredo connoisseur. Hubby and I would practically scrape the pan clean whenever I would try to replicate my own fettuccine Alfredo from home. Alfredo sauce consists of Parmesan cheese and a heaping amount of butter. That unto itself sounds like artery-clogging heaven. I guess a seldom helping of this very dairy and creamy dish isn’t going to provoke a heart attack. I simply recreated a vegan Alfredo sauce recipe that is suitable for the health conscious (I tried anyhow). I used some of the nut cream, and a bit of mustard along with some ground pepper and fresh herbs. If you prefer to use coconut milk instead, do so by all means. Either way, you can expect a velvety luscious and flavorful sauce. The picture features spaghetti instead of fettuccine. I used spaghetti because I needed something on the go and that’s all I had at that time. Use fettuccine or linguine if you have some on hand. Spaghetti sufficed it for me. Regrettably, I did not add vegetables to this pasta dish but the ideas are still available. You can use mushrooms, spinach, or broccoli.

For this recipe, you will need:

  1. 1 lbs of fettuccine or spaghetti (preferably whole-wheat)
  2. 1 cup of Brazilian nut cream (you can use any other nut cream or coconut milk)
  3. 1/2 cup of pasta water
  4. 1/3 cup of raw cashews
  5. 2 tablespoons of mustard
  6. 1 tablespoon of lemon juice
  7. 1/2 teaspoon of ground pepper
  8. Pinch of garlic powder
  9. Pinch of nutmeg
  10. Fresh herbs of choice (I used a mix of basil and parsley)

Instructions

Cook and drain fettuccine noodles according to package instructions. Reserve a 1/2 cup of pasta water before draining and set aside.  Return drained noodles to a pot or large skillet and set aside away from the stove. In a blender, combine remaining ingredients and blend until very smooth. Pour blender contents over fettuccine noodles in the pot or skillet and place on medium heat. Add in vegetables if you desire and cook until heated through. Serve hot with a bit of fresh herbs.

Alfredo sauce yields 1 cup enough for 4 servings

Leave a Reply

