Sticky Chili Lime Chicken

Posted on

1377858643301

I borrowed the idea from a lime chicken recipe published in one of the cookbooks I own. I added chopped chili peppers to the lime sauce out of morbid curiosity. The chili peppers add a nice kick. The chili lime sauce ironically tastes like one of the store-bought marinades my mother would sometimes use in chicken. The difference between the two sauces is that mine doesn’t contain MSG or artificial flavorings. You can just exclusively reserve this chili lime sauce for a marinade. I just poured the sauce directly on the chicken and baked it. You can marinate you chicken in advance if you choose to do so. The lime, honey, and chili flavors may be stronger if you decide to marinate. This chicken gets its stickiness from the bit of honey I used for this sticky lime chili chicken recipe. As lime season is coming to a conclusion, I wanted to utilize the remaining limes I have sitting in my refrigerator.  I have this quasi-unbeatable habit of buying items in bulk, especially produce with a short-lived season. I can only make so many desserts and drinks using lime. Fresh lime is a valuable treasure and I wanted to enjoy them one last time before next summer. Now that I have revised this lime chicken recipe by using crushed chili peppers, I can it to my chicken recipes repertoire. Although chicken breasts are a healthier option, I used whole chicken.  Serve this sticky chili lime chicken with new potatoes and mango avocado salad at barbecues or luncheons.  Rather than oven-baking the chicken like I have, you can marinate and grill it if using chicken breasts.

For this recipe, you will need:

  1. 1 whole chicken cut into 1/8th skin removed or 4 skinless boned chicken breasts
  2. 2 limes juiced
  3. Grated lime zest
  4. 2 tablespoons of honey
  5. 2 tablespoons of olive oil
  6. 1 teaspoon of crushed chili pepper or small chili pepper minced
  7. 2 teaspoons of minced garlic
  8. 1/2 teaspoon of ground pepper

Instructions

If you decide to marinate the chicken, place chicken in zip lock bags. Pour chili lime sauce and seal the bags. Allow them to marinate for an hour or overnight. Reserve some of the chili lime sauce. This method works well for grilling. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Lay chicken out on a greased baking pan. Whisk ingredients together and pour evenly on chicken. Bake for 45 minutes, basting every 10 minutes. The pan should get sticky as you baste the chicken.

Yields 4 servings

Leave a Reply

