Multi Grain Bagels

Posted on

2013-09-09 07.58.45

My only criticism of whole wheat, or multi grain four for that matter, used to be that it was heavy on my stomach.  I prefer bread light, fluffy, and eat to digest. That was one of the reasons why I was hesitant to eat anything exclusively made from multi grain flour. Then again anything that I have made from whole wheat and spelt four was a success. In the past, I have used those ingredients a lot in my breads, cookies, and muffins and managed to make it work. Working with multi grain flour shouldn’t be an exception. I found and bought myself 2 lbs bag of multi grain flour a couple of weeks ago. I was looking for a unique bagel recipe since it has been ions since I’ve made and had homemade bagels. As a native New Yorker, I’ve set the bar high for bagels. Since there is no reputable bakeries that are not able to meet my standards (;-p), replicating New York style bagels to my best ability was my only resort.  I traditionally conclude my fasting days with homemade bagels and the idea of serving homemade multi grain bagels seemed like an epiphany to me. Unlike most whole grain and multi grain bagels which are dense and sometimes lacking in the flavor department, I assure you that my recipe guarantees you otherwise. This recipe had transcended my expectations of multi grain bagels. If you are unable to find mult- grain flour, you can use a bit of whole wheat, spelt, barley, and oat flour. While this is not exactly a low carb recipe,  the high fiber and slowly digesting whole grains make it a much healthier option than the the regular refined flour bagels that spike blood sugar levels.  Leftovers (if there is any)  can be sealed in freezer bags and frozen. You can then defrost them in the toaster or the oven. But microwaving bagels is nearly a mortal sin. I’ve tried that once and vowed never to do that again for the rest of my bagel eating days. Bagels, especially homemade bagels, deserve to be treated with more respect than that 😉

 

For this recipe, you will need:

  1. 1 1/2 cup of warm water
  2. 2 packages of yeast
  3. 3 tablespoons of honey or sugar
  4. 4 cups of multi grain flour
  5. 1 cup of bread flour
  6. 1/3 cocoa powder

For the toppings (optional):

  1. 1 egg white
  2. 1/4 cup of oats or flax seeds

Instructions

Mix the warm water, honey, and yeast in the bowl of your mixer. Let sit for about 10 minutes until the yeast is frothy. In a separate bowl, mix the flours and cocoa powder. Add the salt. Slowly add the flour to the yeast mixture and process with the dough hook attachment. Let knead for about 10 minutes.  Remove from mixer and turn over onto a floured surface. Knead by hand for an additional minute or two until well combined. Place in a greased bowl , turning to make sure the entire ball of dough is covered in oil. Cover loosely with oiled plastic wrap and a clean damp towel. Set aside for one hour to rise.  Bring a large pot of water to boil. Add 2 tablespoons of sugar to the water. Preheat your oven to 400 degrees. Punch down the dough and divide into about 8-10 equal-sized pieces. Shape into a bagel shape by either rolling into a snake and connecting at ends or roll into a ball and then poke through a hole using your finger tips. Lay the shaped bagels out on a greased cookie sheet and let rise again for about 20 minutes until the bagels are plump. Gently, each bagel and drop into the water two or three at a time.  Boil for no more than two minutes each and then remove with a slotted spoon to a new greased cookie sheet. Once boiled, you can brush each bagel with an egg white wash and top with oats or flax seeds (or sunflower seeds) if you decide to. Bake for about 20 minutes or until golden brown.

Yields 8-10 bagels

 

 

Leave a Reply

