Vanilla Iced Coffee

Posted on

2013-09-16 08.28.52-1Until my teens, I never cared for coffee. The aroma and the flavors didn’t seem to translate. I didn’t like the taste lingering in my mouth for hours and have people complain about my malodorous breathe emanating from my mouth.  Sadly, I am struggling to kick the addiction. I wish that body is hard-wired enough to have an abundance of natural energy. Alas, it doesn’t seem to have any of its own. But I do remember to carry a pack of mint flavored gum or breath mints. Despite what others may think, I am very self-conscious about my dental hygiene. I don’t like having a smelly mouth. Despite my coffee addition, I try to limit myself to one cup of coffee a day. I am normally not an iced coffee drinker but since the weather hasn’t considerably cooled down, I decided to make one of my own. A heaping teaspoon of vanilla paste or pure vanilla extract accentuates the authentic vanilla flavor in this ice coffee recipe. If you don’t like vanilla, you can use other flavors as well. What I like most about this vanilla iced coffee recipe is that its sugar-free. Dairy-free coffee is normally difficult for me to swallow as milk usually does a better job mitigating the strong coffee flavor rather than soy milk.  I decided to try this recipe using almond milk instead. If you are looking to stay awake in the morning amid the last days of the summer brutal heat, I have just the perfect recipe for you.

For this recipe, you will need:

  1. 2 1/2 cups of almond milk or any milk of your choice
  2. 1/2-1 cup of cooled brewed coffee
  3. 2-4 tablespoons of honey or agave nectar
  4. 1 teaspoon of vanilla paste or pure vanilla extract
  5. 1/2 teaspoon of salt
  6. 1 1/2 – 2 crates worth of ice cubes

Instructions

Place all ingredients in a blender and blend till smooth. Serve at once.

Yields 1 serving

 

Leave a Reply

