Individual Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cakes

Posted on

2013-10-21 08.41.47

I practically live, breathe, and eat oatmeal. So does Hubby for that matter. As a matter of fact, he got me hooked on oatmeal. Up till now, I would have preferred cold cereal. Not only are oats thought to lower your cholesterol level but it keeps you fueled for a couple of hours therefore stalling your temptations for compulsive snacking (a habit that I am trying to curb). Understandably, eat oatmeal for breakfast on a daily basis can tire pretty quickly. I don’t always have the time or the energy to whip up a batch of oat pancakes or bake oat muffins. Cookies and cakes won’t cut it either. I vividly remember my mother scolding at me for eating cakes, cookies, and doughnuts for breakfast. In my defense, sometimes I am in a rush and need something on the go and I don’t have time to wait around for my oats to cook. I know. You don’t need to lecture me. I got plenty of those growing up (and still do). Laziness is never an excuse. I should learn to budget my time more wisely and put in more effort into implementing nutritious breakfast ideas. I have a oatmeal cake recipe that my mother (and hopefully most moms) will approve of. Made of rolled oats, chocolate chips, vanilla extract, milk of your choice, and oat flour, eating this oatmeal cake is like eating a warm chocolate chip cookie, with gooey, melted chocolate in every delicious bite! Better yet, there are neither eggs nor gluten making this oatmeal cake recipe gluten-free and vegan friendly.  Serve these individual cakes hot with low-fat whipped cream or yogurt.

For this recipe, you will need:

  1. 1 cup of oat flour
  2. 1/2 cup of rolled oats
  3. 1/2 teaspoon of baking soda
  4. 1/4 teaspoon of salt
  5. 1 teaspoon of cinnamon
  6. 1/2 cup of milk of your choice
  7. 1/2 cup of unsweetened applesauce
  8. 1/4 cup of honey, maple syrup or agave nectar
  9. 1 teaspoon of vanilla
  10. Handful of bittersweet or semisweet chocolate chips

Instructions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Whisk the first 5 ingredients in a bowl. Combine the wet ingredients and mix in with the dry ingredients. Grease 2 ramekin cups. Distribute batter evenly in ramekins.  Bake for 20-25 minutes, or until firm.

Yields 2 servings

Leave a Reply

