Marinated Eggplant

Posted on

marinated eggplantMy taste-buds only started becoming accustomed to eggplant in recent years. Ever since people have raved about my roasted eggplant dip recipe, I have been using eggplant more often. Fortunately for me, eggplant is popular where I live. Very few people I know will fret over eggplant. Otherwise, it has been served at every table I have eaten at. If you are looking for an easy side idea and are an eggplant lover, this recipe was intended for you. First I sliced and roasted the eggplant. Then I marinated it with balsamic vinegar and lemon juice. A bit of garlic and a few chile flakes give it plenty of flavor, making it perfect for serving alongside salads or simply spreading on crispy toasts or fresh baguette. I made marinated eggplant for a host I was eating by. Since eggplant is slowly becoming popular in the Anglo community, I was hoping there would be leftovers for me to take back and eat them with an omelet. It never happened.

For this recipe, you will need:

  1. 1 large eggplant sliced
  2. 2 bell peppers sliced
  3. 3 plum tomatoes sliced
  4. 3 cloves of garlic minced
  5. 1/2 teaspoon of chili red flakes
  6. 1 tablespoon of oregano, parsley, or basil
  7. 1/3 cup of olive oil plus more for roasting
  8. Juice from one lemon
  9. 1/4 cup of balsamic vinegar
  10. Ground pepper

Instructions

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.  Lay eggplant slices and pepper slices on a baking sheet. Drizzle with a bit of olive oil and season with salt and ground pepper. Roast for 30 minutes or until eggplant is tender.  Once cooled, place eggplant, peppers, and tomatoes in a container. Add the remaining ingredients. Cover and let it marinate for 30 minutes. Serve chilled or at room temperature.

Yields 4 servings

Leave a Reply

