A Very Nutty Smoothie

Posted on

2013-11-11 08.00.11

I don’t have smoothies that often. When I do, it’s a treat and a great break from cereal. There are many different ways to make a healthy smoothie. I am sure you’ve encountered a myriad of smoothie recipes. Smoothie drinks can be made from almost any ingredients, but a banana nut oriented smoothie is a favorite among most people – including myself. While bananas add substance to smoothies, nuts are the heroes in this drink. I have been trying to detox as of late and am cautious as to what I decide to put in my mouth. While you can make a healthy and balanced smoothie using fruits and vegetables, I find that adding a little fat can make the smoothie more satisfying. It also can keep you energized until lunchtime.  I used a couple tablespoons of almond butter and hazelnut milk (follow instructions from my almond milk recipe).  I also added flax seeds as they are a rich source of omega-3 fatty acids which studies have linked to a variety of health benefits. I sometimes like to sweeten my smoothies with a miniscule amount of molasses. You can use any natural sweetener of your choice. After slurping down one cupful of this morning delightful drink, I intended on setting aside the remainder for later. I was too impatient to wait that long so I subsequently guzzled down the rest. Its hopeless for me. In my defense, however, that’s all I had for breakfast. And it kept my cravings at bay for a couple of hours.

For this recipe, you will need:

  1. 1 large ripe banana chopped (you can use mango if you want to try something different)
  2. 1 cup of hazelnut milk (you can use any non-dairy or soy free milk of your choice)
  3. 2 tablespoons of almond buter
  4. 2 tablespoons of flax seeds
  5. 2 teaspoons of molasses
  6. 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract

Instructions

Place all ingredients in a blender and blend till smooth. Serve cold.

Yields approximately 2 cups

 

 

Leave a Reply

