Morning Berry Boosting Ricotta Shake

Posted on

2013-11-20 08.17.55

As I am minimizing my intake of sugar, I have been exploring breakfast ideas that are simple, sugar-free, and tasty. Behold, the Morning Berry Boosting Ricotta Shots! After a while, I grow tired of eating oatmeal and tend to venture for other suggestions. Sometimes, I will whip up a batch of muffins and sometimes I will make myself a smoothie. This shake was inspired by a recipe that I have been meaning to try out from a book on nutrition I changed the ingredients and modified the original recipe a bit. I used ricotta cheese instead of cottage cheese. The recipe also asked for raspberries but I’m sure that other wild berries would work just as fine. In this case, however, I used frozen strawberries that have been sitting in my freezer since last winter. I created a sauce using unsweetened applesauce.  This recipe can be converted into a no-bake cheesecake recipe.  If you are not in a hurry, just let the cheese filling set in the refrigerator for an hour. Most people are discouraged and scolded at for eating cheesecake for breakfast. Perhaps this recipe may be more forgiving. I served these shakes in glasses because they give a more presentable and appetizing appearance. Let’s face it. We are not our most pleasant when we first wake up. I am not always thrilled to be dragging my weary body out of bed. The sunlight glaring in my face doesn’t exactly brighten my mood. An energy and metabolic boost is needed to keep us sustained throughout our day.  This wild berry ricotta shake is the perfect solution to help you get a jump-start to your day. It suppressed my appetite till lunch. I like to sprinkle some flax seeds and grounded nuts on top for some additional protein and crunch. The choice is yours though.

For this recipe, you will need:

  1. 1 cup of low-fat or non-fat ricotta cheese
  2. 1/2 cup of plain non-fat yogurt
  3. Zest from one lemon
  4. 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
  5. 1 tablespoon of maple syrup or honey
  6. 1/2 of of wild berries fresh or frozen
  7. 1/4 cup of unsweetened applesauce
  8. Crushed walnuts, almonds or hazel nuts
  9. Flax seeds or Chia seeds

Instructions

In a bowl, combine ricotta cheese, yogurt, zest, vanilla and maple syrup.Whip till smooth. Fill two glasses evenly with cheese filling. Place applesauce and berries in a blender and blend till smooth. Fill sauce evenly in each cup. Top with nuts and flax seeds. Serve chilled or allow it to set for an hour.

Yields 2 servings

 

Leave a Reply

