Sugar-Free Chocolate Pecan Pie

Posted on

Pecan Pie

I attended a pot-luck Hanukah party a couple nights ago.  When contemplating on what to bring, pecan pie came to mind. Pecan pie is one of my favourite nut-oriented desserts and since I haven’t made this dessert since my sister’s post-wedding party, I felt it was time to revive this pie.  As a self-proclaimed chocolate lover, I decided to incorporate chocolate into this pecan pie. Needless to say, I had people chasing after me for a recipe. When I mentioned that this pie was sugar-free and vegan-friendly, they were in utter disbelieve. As someone who’s taste buds are becoming less accustomed to the taste of sugar, I explored other alternatives. I used soaked dates and maple syrup; ingredients that you would last expect to see. This has been by far the healthiest chocolate pecan pie I ever made. It even rivalled the doughnuts displayed on the dessert table (I had a half of a doughnut to show my holiday spirit).  This chocolate pecan pie recipe makes a wonderful Thanksgiving dessert idea as well. This pie is a perfect balance of sweet, gooey, rich, and chewy. It is also very easy to prepare. The batter fills up an entire prepared graham cracker graham cracker pie crust. If you have a bigger crust, I suggest you double the recipe.

For this recipe, you will need:

  1. 1 cup of pecans plus extra for garnish
  2. 1 cup of soaked dates pitted
  3. 1/2 cup of milk of your choice
  4. 1 teaspoon of vanilla
  5. 1/4 teaspoon of salt
  6. 2 tablespoons of corn starch
  7. 1/2 cup of maple syrup
  8. 2 tablespoons of molasses
  9. 1/4 cup of sifted cocoa powder
  10. Prepared graham cracker pie crust

Instructions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Blend all ingredients  except for pecans together in a food processor till smooth. Then add the pecans and pulse a few times until they’re chopped. Pour into a prepared pie crust, and top with additional pecans if desired. Bake for 45 minutes.

Yields 8 servings

 

Leave a Reply

