Tangy Turnip Soup

Posted on Updated on

1387262961384

Turnips are often overlooked and underrated. I’ve seen people turn pale from merely hearing the word “turnip” uttered. Although my aversion for turnips are not as strong as it is for many I know, I am not so hasty to dive into them. The idea of making turnip soup sounded intriguing enough for me to want to make it myself. Although turnips are not a favorite among many people I know (including myself), I thought a turnip soup recipe may be worth a whirl. I was bracing myself for a string of biting negative critiques.  To my utter shock, hubby and co. had 3 bowls of this spicy turnip soup.  Big turnips have the tendency to be a bit bitter whereas baby turnips will have a sweeter flavor . If you are not a fan of this tangy root vegetable soup, this tangy version may catch you by surprise and even perhaps change your perspective on turnips. If you want to vary the proportions of vegetables you can; it works well whether you emphasize the turnips, as I do here, the carrots and kohlrabi. In this easy soup recipe, the humble turnip is transformed into a rich turnip soup made naturally creamy. If you are still concerned that you may not like this soup, tarragon makes a lovely sweet garnish. Chives would also work.

For this recipe, you will need:

  1. 2 medium turnips or 8 baby turnips peeled and sliced
  2. 1 large kohlrabi peeled and cut into chunks
  3. 2-3 large carrots peeled and chopped
  4. 1 onion chopped
  5. 1 clove of garlic peeled and crushed
  6. 1 sweet chili pepper chopped
  7. 1 can of crushed tomatoes
  8. 4 cups of vegetable broth
  9. Salt and pepper for taste

Instructions

Place ingredients in a stock pot and bring to a boil at medium-high heat. Reduce heat and simmer covered for 25 minutes or until vegetables are soft. Puree using a hand blender or in batches with a blender.  Serve hot.

Yields 6 servings

Leave a Reply

