Homemade Chocolate Spread

Posted on

chocolate spread

I don’t often use sweet spreads. Nutella happens to be on the top of my favorite spreads.  I never cared for store bought chocolate spreads. Overall, I found them to be too sugary for my liking. Nutella was my go-to chocolate spread since the sweetness was not as overpowering. Sweet or savory, spreads are very addictive. Put a bowl of crackers and a spread in front of me and they both will be devoured within minutes. That is partially the reason I keep both items and condiments away from each other and out of my reach.  I have managed to keep down my compulsive eating to a tad and I want to stay on that track. I know that I am not doing myself any favors or justice by sharing a chocolate spread recipe. The lack of sugar, minuscule  amount of oil, and natural ingredients is what sets this chocolate spread apart from most chocolate spreads. This chocolate spread takes minutes to make and can be used as a chocolate frosting or icing. Adjust the measurements in the following ingredients depending on the consistency you like. You can even add a nut spread to the ingredients if you like.

For this recipe, you will need:

  1. 4 tablespoons of coconut oil or trans-fat free margarine
  2. 1/2 cup plus 1 tablespoon of unsweetened cocoa powder
  3. 1/4 cup of agave syrup or date honey
  4. 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract

Instructions

Melt the coconut oil or margarine, either in the microwave  or in a warm oven. Add agave syrup and vanilla extract and stir. Add cocoa powder.  Add a bit of water if spread is too thick.

Yields about 1 cup

 

Leave a Reply

