Curry Lentil Squash Soup

Posted on

lentil squash soup

I am still wrapping my head around the fact that 2013 is over. I’ve had many fond memories during that year that I will forever cherish, albeit some of the rough patches. Although I am a bit sad to have seen the year gone by so quickly, I am looking forward to a new beginning in 2014. My New Years resolution still remains the same – keeping the sparkle between hubby and I alive, adapting to a healthier lifestyle, loosing some weight, post and share more recipes, transcending my blog into a promotional healthy eating online resource, celebrity food columnist, etc….Yes I do have big dreams and am quite relentless when it comes to achieving my goals. While I am normally an egomaniac, I do hope to gain some media publicity. How catastrophic can a little fame be for one person? While certain goals may not seem realistic at the moment, it doesn’t hurt to aim high and persist. Even when times seem bleak and hopeless, don’t let an unfortunate circumstance or some naysayer be a hindrance your abilities in accomplishing your goals. Not everyone will believe in you or lend their support but it’s important that you recognize your potential for greatness and live up to it. As an overachiever, quitting is never an option for me. Challenges are meant for us to overcome and grow from them. On that note, may we enter 2014 with our hopes and dreams alive and ready to fulfill. Reflect on 2013 and use those memories and incidents to your advantage. Keep your head up and never surrender. It’s hard but it’s possible. You can do it!! Be patient. You may not notice results right away but you will see them. I wish you all a happy and a healthy New Year!

Having said that, I would like to proceed to a recipe that I want to share with you. The weather has been wet and murky lately. Winter squash soup is very soothing for a cold miserable winter evening.  Lentil squash soup seemed perfect. Rich, thick and impact with flavor, this curried lentil squash soup is what I needed. The flavor combination was just sublime with a lot of fresh garlic, ginger, and curry powder. I just dumped all the ingredients in the pot rather than roasting the squash.  It was also ready in less than half an hour, which is perfect because when I’m hungry Lord have mercy. I kid but I don’t appreciate being delayed when I need to eat. Mind you, I do most of the cooking around hear so when dinner is served late, I am usually to blame.  I suppose that patience another resolution I should consider for this year because mine is sometimes limited on an empty belly. I’m sure some of you can relate 😉

For this recipe, you will need:

  1. 3 lbs of butternut squash or pumpkin peeled and cubed
  2. 1 cup of red lentils
  3. 1 quart of water or reduced sodium vegetable broth
  4. 1 medium onion chopped
  5. 1 tablespoon of fresh ginger minced
  6. 2 cloves of garlic minced
  7. 2 teaspoons of curry powder
  8. 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne pepper
  9. Salt and pepper for taste
  10. Roasted chestnuts for garnish

Instructions

Place all vegetables and spices in a stock pot. Fill them up with broth or water. Cover and bring to a boil.  Let the soup simmer for 25 minutes or until vegetables as tender. Puree soup using a hand blender or puree in batches using a standing blender. Season with salt and pepper. Top bowls with a couple of roasted chestnuts for garnish before serving.

Yields 4 servings

 

 

Leave a Reply

