Fish Bites with Dill Sauce

Posted on Updated on

Fish Bites

With no disrespect for my dearest mother who I endlessly love and admire, I never really cared for stuffed fish. My indifference for this particular dish was not influenced by her cooking.  While I am normally a fastidious eater, I devoured almost anything she made. It’s merely due to the fact that the idea never appealed to me. She would (and still does) make and served stuffed fish, or gefilte fish every Friday night. Sometimes she would embellish it with salsa which I would occasionally eat.  This post is not meant to offend anyone who eats gefilte fish. God bless you if you do. Personally, I prefer chilled pickled salmon which my grandmother makes. I hope to share a recipe shortly because it on the top ten of my favorite fish recipes. Last night, I brainstormed the idea of making stuffed fish balls from a cocktail meatball recipe. That idea never materialized in the least.  I decided to make fish bites or bite sized fish patties out of my own volition instead.  Rather than using store-bought prepared stuffed fish, I used a combination of fresh salmon and halibut.  This recipe would also work well with sole, cod, haddock, and talapia or any fish with the least amount of bones. I was mostly surprised how quickly these fish bites were consumed. When there were two nuggets remaining, entertaining the idea of leftovers was laughable. The last two remaining nuggets were shared with me and hubby. Quick and easy to make, these crispy delights make a perfect family-friendly fish recipe idea. I served them with a homemade dill sauce, just mayonnaise, fresh dill, lemon juice, and ground pepper, but they’re just as delicious served with tomato ketchup or plain low/non-fat yogurt for dipping.  You can make these fish bites in advance and reheat them when ready to serve. Serve with fresh salad and grains.

For this recipe, you will need:

  1. 1 lbs of salmon
  2. 1 lb of haddock
  3. 1 egg or 2 egg whites beaten
  4. 1 tablespoon of fresh lemon juice
  5. 1 tablespoon of fresh dill
  6. 1 tablespoon of chopped fresh parsley
  7. 1 clove of garlic minced
  8. 1 teaspoon of cayenne pepper
  9. 1/4 cup of bread crumbs
  10. Salt and pepper for taste
  11. 2 tablespoons of olive oil

For the dill sauce, you will need:

  1. 1/3-1/2 cup of  lite mayonnaise
  2. 2 tablespoons of chopped fresh dill
  3. 1 tablespoon of chopped fresh mint
  4. Juice from one small lemon
  5. Ground fresh pepper for taste

Instructions

Grind salmon and halibut in a food processor until smooth. Transfer to a deep shallow bowl. Add all the ingredients except for olive oil and mix well. Heat olive oil in a cast iron skillet over medium high heat. Manually form fish batter into balls or patties and saute for 3-4 minutes on each side or until golden brown.  Serve hot or at room temperature.

For the dill sauce, process mayonnaise. dill, mint, lemon juice, and ground pepper in a food processor until blended. Serve along side with fish bites.

Yields 10-12 fish bites

Leave a Reply

